Slovakian Tatras


Advertisement
Slovakia's flag
Europe » Slovakia » Presov Region » High Tatras » Strbské Pleso
July 15th 2011
Published: July 15th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Happily the bus from Zakopane, Poland to Poprad, Slovakia showed up on time but there was a huge traffic jam on the way to the border as apparently the road to the border is shared with one of the most popular tourist attractions in the Zakopane area, the lake Morskie Oko. The traffic jam wasn't stop and go; it was more like stop and stop.

Luckily the bus passed the jammed part of the road and it delivered me at Poprad Aquacity water park, and the first thing I did after checking into my hotel was head back to the water park. This isn't really a Kapolei-style water park. It doesn't have nearly as many different types of attractions and the water slides are lame. It's more about relaxation and there are a number of thermal pools where one can sit and relax. There is also an Olympic-sized swimming pool, which I really enjoyed since it's been a long while since I've swam in one. I haven't been to Kapolei in years, and I'm not sure if they have computer-controlled lockers and wristbands yet, but at this park they give you a wristband with a computer chip that you can put credits on and which also controls your locker. It took me about 20 minutes to figure out how to use it and most of it was stunned disbelief as I had never seen anything like it before.

The next day I spent hiking near Stary Smokovec and the views were breathtaking. Unlike Zakopane which was completely overrun with tourists, the Slovak side of the Tatras doesn't feel that way at all, maybe because there are multiple resort towns in this area and because most of the Tatras is on the Slovak side. The final day it rained, which was a bit disappointing, so I just had a walk around the lake at Strbske Pleso because I don't enjoy hiking in the rain too much.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0454s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb