Bratislava


Advertisement
Slovakia's flag
Europe » Slovakia » Bratislava Region » Bratislava
February 17th 2009
Published: February 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Oh Bratislava. It's small enough for a day trip from Vienna which is what most people do but I stayed a night and my host introduced me to a traditional Slovakian dish - halusky. It's potatoes and goat cheese and is sometimes served with bacon. It smelled funky but it was pretty good 😊

It's been snowing since I got here which sucks for touristy stuff but crazy asian tourist that I am, I braved the cold and snow and wandered around town on the walking tour the tourist info suggested. I'm pretty sure some people were looking at me and thinking "crazy tourist." I know I was thinking that. Since I only had one day, I was determined to see Bratislava and the quirky random statues that are all over old town. I even went up to the castle (that was closed and under renovation) and tried not to slip and die on my way up and down. Why do castles have to be on hills? Sigh. I also met up with a couple of CSers for lunch and it was fun just hanging out.

Went to the post office to get some stamps and spent a looooong time in line (apparently Mondays are when companies send the poor interns out to send a bazillion registered letters - each one of them requiring a separate form and personal touch from the lady behind the counter. When I finally got to the counter, I couldn't get stamps and after a lot of Slovak being passed around, the nice intern before me took me to the right place. So, if you're in Slovakia and want to send postcards, don't got to the window that says postage stamps. Go to the post shop instead.

That's about it for Bratislava. I wanted to see Devin castle or maybe take a day trip out to Trencin on my way to Kosice but the weather has been pretty bad so I'm just gonna get my train to Kosice and explore East Slovakia, leaving the Western part for another day.

Things I learnt: I now know why most Europeans have long and thick eyelashes and that Asian eyelashes are not made for keeping snow out of my eyes. Btw, snow in your eyes? it hurts! Also, being from a warm tropical country, snow is a wonderful novelty until you have to walk around in it for hours. It was fascinating....now, not so much.

Advertisement



17th February 2009

Dear charms, This is the first time I read about Bratislava and, to be honest, it seems to be an interesting place to visit. I also had no idea what the traditional Slovakian dish is and it was interesting to learn about it. When mentioning about the weather conditions, here, in England, it is the same. There has been snow for several days and it was considered to be such a bad weather that they closed University! It was also funny to read about buying postage stamps, I will bear this in mind when I go to Bratislava! Also, your observations about Europeans’ eyelashes were very witty, hehe. As it seems, you have had a great and funny time in Bratislava! Hristina

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0476s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb