Belgrade, Serbia


Advertisement
Europe » Serbia » West » Belgrade
June 30th 2013
Published: June 30th 2013
Edit Blog Post

A Serbian taxi driver said that many of the most interesting historical buildings in Serbia had been bombed out of existence.




He said Serbians are "like Americans ... you have to kill every last one of us before we will quit fighting when we are at war." If you want to see history, you go to where the "cowards" live. Then he asked me where my ancestors are from. I told him my family comes from Ireland. He told me I was 100% Serbian then, because I fight like an American and I drink like a Serbian.




He was missing some facts as some of you may know, but I get his point.




I told him I thought he was an educated man, because of his superior grasp of history and language. He said he had a masters degree in history, but got lost on his path to his PHD because he slept with his mentor's wife.




His final thoughts on Belgrade ... "we have the most beautiful woman in the world."




He might be right.


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0361s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb