More Sleeper Trains


Advertisement
Europe » Serbia » West » Belgrade
March 30th 2010
Published: April 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post

BEOGRADE Day 69



My train was an hour late arriving, which isn’t too bad because I got to sleep a little longer. It still got me in super early in the morning so that I would have to wait for the ticket office to open so that I can arrange my next night train to Montenegro. After many hours of waiting I finally got my ticket and was free to check out Belgrade for the day.

My first stop on my tour of Belgrade was St. Marko church. It has an amazing candelabra / chandelier thingy. It was interesting to see the amount of people that were entering just to offer their prayers to the different stations of saints set up around the church. And it was people of all ages. It is hard to imagine being so devout to your religion but it something that I have noticed throughout a lot of Europe.

I then headed for the pedestrian street to have a quick lunch before going on to Belgrade Fortress and Kalemegdan. The fortress area is really nice. They have integrated the old fortress with a nice park, courts, and restaurants. It has a modern feel but still keeps the old authentic feel of the fortress. There is also a great view of the Danube River. Outside of the fortress is a small souvenir market where I bought some pretty earrings.

I relaxed in the park of the fortress, strolled along the streets and finally visited the St. Sava Church before going back to the train station.




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.256s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0618s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb