Cчастливого Рождества - Merry Russian Christmas!


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia
January 7th 2017
Published: January 7th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

7.1.17

Russian Christmas

A truly delicious table!A truly delicious table!A truly delicious table!

Presenting Christmas to my friends Laura and Terry.
Today I have been celebrating Russian Christmas with my friends Laura and Terry (see pictures). I spent a couple of hours in the kitchen cooking. Some of my fondest memories of being in Russia are from in the kitchen. In particular, being with my friend Anna's family... but more about her later.

I managed to bake pirozhki from scratch, something I've never done before, and they were pretty damn good. I will be making them again. (I will put the recipe at the end, and the website I got it from where it's written in Russian). I also made a vinegret salad and an olivier salad, which came out pretty good, and bought some typical Russia/Slavic food from the Polish/Russian shops in Glasgow. Pierogi, tvorog, beer cheese (I don't know what this is called in either English or Russian – but it is pretty good with beer), bread and dill flavoured crisps.

Typically, Russians begin celebrating on Christmas Eve (6th January) with a family meal called 'Holy Supper) which consists of 12 dishes to honour each of the Apostles. Devout families will go to church both before and after the meal and then again on the morning of the 7th. Since 1992, Christmas has become a national holiday in Russia.

During the Soviet era, there was a state policy of atheism. Christmas traditions, celebrations and decorations were gradually eradicated after the October Revolution, but then later adopted as part of the secular New Year celebrations. Trees are decorated, families gather and Dyed Moroz/Дед Мороз and Snegurochka/Снегурочка visit bearing gifts (grandfather frost and his granddaughter Snow-maiden).

I decided to celebrate the day with Christmas food. As a life-long vegetarian/recent vegan, Russian food can be a little tricky. There is pork, 'meat chunks', goose with apples,. Sour-cream hare, venison, lamb, whole fish.... essentially whatever the family prefers. Having never cooked meat before, I decided to stick with food I know best and won't kill anyone with.

We also drank vodka, cold and neat. The way it was intended.

Back to Anna. Anna and I were flatmates in Budapest when I was studying for a TEFL qualification, and I stopped off at her flat in Ulyanovsk (see previous blog entry where I think there is a picture of her family cooking 😊 I have not spoken to her in a couple of years, but sent her an email this morning to wish her a Happy Christmas. A few hours later I received a reply. She and her family are well and having a lovely time, and she got married! I've had a look through her wedding photos and, of course, she looks stunning.



http://m-a-r-s-o.livejournal.com/123670.html?view=2354198#t2354198



Weekly round up:

Number of Celebrations 7. Number of Countries: 8 (+1 world) Number of estranged friends reconnected with: 1



So far, so good.

Tomorrow - Babinden - scenes you won't see in Call the Midwife.

Advertisement



10th January 2017
A truly delicious table!

What a meal
Nice
11th January 2017
A truly delicious table!

It tasted delicious! I highly reccommed the pirozki!

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0332s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb