Nizhny Novgorod, the Kremlin


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Volga » Nizhny Novgorod
August 6th 2009
Published: May 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

This was in summer of 2009. I was going to Saint Petersburg for the Global Gathering party, and it so happened that I did not manage to buy train tickets for the usual route, Yanaul-Moscow-Petersburg, so I devised a modified route: Yanaul-Kazan-Nizhny Novgorod-Moscow-Petersburg.
There was only 30 minutes between the train from Yanaul and that to Nizhny Novgorod. Fortunately, there were no delays.

When I came to Nizhny Novgorod, I bought a map - this is the first thing I usually do when I arrive to a place. By the way, geography was one of my favourite subjects at school.
To see the sights, I had very little time - four or five hours, and now I will speak of a thing not so pleasant to myself… I always try to do my best using maps, but I do get lost often, go in the wrong direction and feel myself an idiot. That’s because I should be more attentive when I walk, and look at the map more professionally. So, naturally, I went in the wrong direction, heading for the Kremlin, but found little of interest. At last, I managed to come back to the starting point and, given the
Temple of John the ForerunnerTemple of John the ForerunnerTemple of John the Forerunner

Храм Иоанна Предтечи
lack of time, decided to take a bus to the Kremlin - no problem occurred with that.
I will make this piece very short; sadly, I saw the Kremlin only from outside. The Kremlin there is magnificent, it stands on a high hill and provides a good view over the city.

Now I will point out some other peculiarity of my hope-not-so-boring tales (but I emphasize, my first and foremost aim is to express my own emotions and impressions only): I will not provide any factual information, like which bus you take, where the metro is, or how you get to this or that monument. I do not think it is hard to find such information somewhere.

To conclude, I will just say that I liked the Kremlin and will have a longer stay in Nizhny Novgorod soon, most probably this September.

I have been to Nizhny Novgorod a second time on September 12. I visited the Kremlin and saw many other attractions (mainly churches), watched a film in a cinema theatre and even went to a party. I spend there the whole day and got extremely weary and in the night I took a train to Moscow from where I flew to Baku (Azerbaijan).

Bye for now, and take care.


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

"Bread Samovar""Bread Samovar"
"Bread Samovar"

N.Novgorod happened to be celebrating its 789th anniversary that day. So there were many points selling such delicious items made of bread
DSC00181DSC00181
DSC00181

I just went with the map looking for old churches


Tot: 0.296s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0976s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb