I sit and wait...


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Volga » Kazan
October 10th 2005
Published: January 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Kazan: Matt, myself, Precious, Emma, Chris J.Kazan: Matt, myself, Precious, Emma, Chris J.Kazan: Matt, myself, Precious, Emma, Chris J.

I am strategically placed at the back, to hide the huge hole in my jeans!
Myself and Emma used each other's head as a pillow, and we put our legs over Chris J's body as he was lying down opposite us, with his head in the corner on Sarah's feet. We didn't sleep that much but we had a lot to talk about, so it didn't bother anyone too much. We played another game of twenty questions - Precious guessed my 'Olga's pet terrapin' in just four!

We stopped in the wilderness at about 2 for a 'wee break'. When we were all back from the forest Chris took his guitar out and played 'Angels' by Robbie Williams; we stood in a circle and sang with him. It sounded superb, and was a beautiful moment - because it was such a clear night (and we were hundreds of kilometres from anywhere) we could see every star in the sky, which looked amazing. It made me realise how close the group has become, having only met for the first time six weeks ago. I suppose that's what happens when people are thrown together in such a strange environment. We're already planning a reunion in Sheffield in January, and 'end of tour' hoodies!

About two hours from Yaroslavl we were stopped by the militsiya (police), who told us to leave the minibus and find somewhere to stay for six hours, because the fog was so bad and there were fires ahead. Some money changed hands between the driver and the policeman, and - as if by magic - we were slowly on our way again. Quite a few villages were on fire, maybe because the leaves are so dry after a warm autumn. When dawn came the mist lifted, and the sun rose over Yaroslavskaya province. It's very similar to the French paysage, with a lot of agriculture and wooden buildings. The Russia that I had only read about.

We got back to Yartek at 9.30, and all decided that after another fifteen hours in a minubus the day's lectures weren't going to happen. I had breakfast with Chris J and went home.

On cue, Tamara Aleksandrovna bombarded me with questions before ordering me to bed. I got up at 4 and had my dinner. Hotel Tamara isn't as tasty as Hotel Fatima, but the service is friendlier!

I went for a drink with Katya in the evening, to the 'biker' bar (actual bikers: none - Louis Armstrong albums on the playlist: one.) She is a really good reason to work hard. I wish I could understand everything she says, and she really likes me. I want there to be something more to like when the novelty of my being from England has worn off.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1123s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb