Remember Forever The Fifth of November


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » South » Sochi
November 4th 2007
Published: November 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Yes, I know I'm a day early, but I don't know if I'm going to update tomorrow. So remember Guy Fawkes tomorrow. And since I'm writing from the world of political repression, celebrate dissidents, though let's not kill anyone, ok friends?

Ok, happy subjects. I'm in Sochi and it's warm and pretty and I'm wearing flip flops. Basically it's fantastic compared to life in Peter or Moscow. It wasn't quite warm enough to go to the beach today, but hopefully it will get there at some point this week because I'm determined to go back to Peter with a tan. Even if I don't, the little bit extra sun is nice.

Getting here was a pain in the ass I must say. It shouldn't have been that big of a problem, but we pushed it took close with the train getting out to the Moscow airport, and we didn't have much time to check in. Then I had to take my suitcase to a special area because it was apparently too big (which it really wasn't compared to a lot of the otehr suitcases I saw on the flight and I didn't have to pay extra), but it just involved a lot of running around. We had to run to our gate, which they changed at the last minute. Then once we arrived in Sochi it tok 45 min. for our bags to come and another half hour to find a taxi driver to take us to the city to find our hotel. However, no one in the city knew where out hotel was and we ended up driving around for 2 hours before the taxi driver finally took us to an internet cafe to look up the address (it's a very long story as to why we didn't have it on us). We had to drive back to Adler, which is near, but just outside of Sochi to find our hostel. Basically it was an adventure.

We wandered around all day today to see the town and take pictures. And as I have basically no internet time left, I'll finish this later.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.168s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.13s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb