Day #51: Exploring Lake Baikal


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Siberia » Lake Baikal
May 29th 2013
Published: May 30th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Thankfully the weather today was absolutely beautiful and there were stunning views over Lake Baikal. I was surprised to see snow-covered mountains on the other side! I hired a bike to explore. Overall it was a good way to see the shores of the lake, although there is no circular path to follow around Lake Baikal (yet - they apparently are gradually developing a single trail), so when you try to follow it around in either direction you eventually end up either at a dead end or on a very fast road that leads away from the lake, so I couldn't have a really long bike ride (probably for the best - it is some time since I last rode a bike).

The best part of the day was finding a near-deserted cove on the shore in the sunshine and just sitting there for a couple of hours admiring the beautiful view. I didn't even have a book with me, I was just able to sit and contemplate (this is a knack I have had to develop since I have been travelling, having been used to having nearly every second of every day occupied with some chore or activity). I did carry on along the road when it split away from the lake where there were some small areas of forest, but mostly just hotel after hotel aimed at Russian tourists.

The hostel is very sociable, so up late discussing everyone's travel plans. Met several people following the same route I am on, one couple who had travelled to Mongolia from the UK in an old Land Rover and are now on the return leg, and a couple of lone travellers who are also intending to return to Europe overland via Central Asia, something I considered but ultimately decided would be too complicated.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



17th June 2013

Love reading about your trip
Indeed learning to sit and contemplate is a talent but very rewarding.

Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0698s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb