A Bit of St. Petersburg


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Northwest » Saint Petersburg
March 1st 2011
Published: March 1st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday I had a lovely evening. Me and my girlfriend have decided on our relationship. Finally! I cannot describe how happy I am. There’s a life for us. I am simply going mad sometimes. Like a child in a fairytale land. This is what St. Petersburg brought into my life. Many hearty thanks. I’m drowning in lyricism and romantic ideas and expectations.

I feel very incomplete about my blogs, there being no stories about St. Petersburg and Moscow. I have realized that I simply have to write something about Moscow, because a) it deserves it; b) I’ve been there many times, though always only within one day and on a way to some other place; c) some people might be interested to read my impressions about this city. Concerning St. Petersburg, it’s a different situation, because when I came here for the first time I did not come for travel, but to find a job. I found a job, and I explored the city. I used to come to St. Petersburg now and then during the past 4 years, but never lived here for more than 2 months. I now feel the urge to try and note down some of the impressions of this magnificent city. At least, I will describe the today’s walk offering to you a route for seeing several of St. Petersburg’s sights.

Today I almost froze my ass off because it’s a bit cold here for weeks. I’m living in a hostel in the centre of the city for 5 Euro/night in a room for 10 people. It’s a gathering point for people from all over the world: I have a man from Brazil, an Italian, a Norwegian girl, and two Danish girls. Also, there have been some Russians, and an Algerian. Very funny man that latter, such wonderful French-mixed-with-English accent!

My only purpose of coming to St. Petersburg this time was to spend time with the girl, going to cafes, cinemas, museums etc, talking and walking in order to get to know one another better and see if we could build a relationship. It is beyond doubt that ours is a mutual sympathy, and I’m too happy about that not to tell about it in my notes. Though, I prefer not to show the sympathy in public. The thoughts come to me in crowds begging to be noted down, so I do. When they are not noted down, they get offended and my fly out of the head forever.

This winter is cold in St. Petersburg, perhaps colder than the years before. It has a remarkable amount of snow, but people walk without hats outside. They must be either very cold-resistant, accustomed, stupid or not caring a damn about cold. Or may be they are rough Northern people.

I am staying in the centre, close to the Moscow Railway Station, and find this very convenient, since I can reach almost any address without no particular effort and waste of time. The hostel room is very damned cold, I hate it, but that was my own choice. I like the general atmosphere of the hostel, because it’s not that crowded, and feels cozy.

Today I felt rather energetic because you know why, and decided to go out and have a walk. I chose to see the Smolny Cathedral and the Alexander Nevsky Lavra. I have seen both before, but I never mind seeing them a billion times again; I do not get bored with St. Petersburg.

The suggested route is, duration about 2-2,30 hours or slightly more, on foot: 1) starting from the Spaso-Preobrazhensky Cathedral (Ryleeva Street) – Kirochnaya Street – Tavricheskaya Street – Shpalernaya Street – Smolny Cathedral – Smolnaya Embankment – Alexandro-Nevskaya Lavra - Nevsky Prospect - Vosstaniya Square.

I’ve first seen the Smolny Cathedral in 2007, and then returned to it several times in 2008. The idiotic thing is that I never walked on its territory, only looked at it from a distance. Today I had walked round it, and saw the real magic and the blue-and-white splendour of it. It looks fantastic with the background of black and brown leafless trees and white snow banks. Or should I say foreground, because the trees are in front of it.

Added the blue sky, the image of the cathedral leaves a deep and lasting impression on anyone. I’ve always admired the religious buildings like cathedrals, monasteries, churches, mosques etc. Though, mosques generally look more modest due to the peculiarities of Muslim religion, but that I will not have the liberty to state regarding their inner decoration, because I haven’t been inside.

If you want to proceed from the Smolny Cathedral to the Lavra, do not do it on foot on a cold day. It’s not very long, but if clothes are not enough warm, you’ll feel miserable. You will see two bridges on your way. But there is nothing particularly interesting between the Cathedral and the Lavra.

I first visited Lavra in 2007 and, still, one of the strongest impressions is the Lavra Necropolis where many famous Russians were buried. It gives one a sense of the brevity of human life and … well, the morning sun never lasts a day (I hope I chose a correct saying). It’s like a completely different world. The Lavra itself is smaller than the Kiev or Sergiev Posad Lavra, but that does not mean that it is worse.

From the Lavra, one can either proceed to the nearby metro station, or continue walking on Nevsky Prospect to Vosstaniya Square. I will now advertise the Russian cuisine fastfood café called Chaynaya Lozhka where one can bite one’s teeth into most tasty pancakes served with sour cream or greens, with a lot of different fillings like chicken & mushrooms, caviar, ham & cheese, drink a variety of teas or have coffee, eat salads, and try two kinds of soup. It’s cheap and healthy.

I am very satisfied with today’s walk. I will think things over and perhaps try and write thematic stories about St. Petersburg, like entries entitled “Parks”, “Museums”, “Parties”, “Bridges”, and the like.

There will be more bits of St. Petersburg from me. I hope you feel well and satisfied with your life.



Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0379s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb