Back in the Days. The Grandeur of Russian Empire. Parks & Palaces near St. Petersburg - Lomonosov (Oranienbaum)


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Northwest » Saint Petersburg
September 14th 2008
Published: September 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

This story is going to be extremely short since I visited Lomonosov in September 2008 and it was under renovation at that time and so I managed to visit only one museum (Palace of Peter III) and saw a very beautiful Pavilion of the Katalnaya Gorka (I will not try to render this mysterious name in English).


One can go to Lomonosov by train and it takes about an hour or so. I guess by now most of the renovation works have been completed. I’m too lazy to find any information about it now in the internet.


The park is also huge, like all the previous parks I’ve written about. There’s the Great Menshikov Palace, a wooden Palace of Peter III (it houses many items from the emperor’s time). I had a quick look at the museum. Generally speaking, that day I walked with a small map and saw the major buildings shown on it.


There’s also the Lower Gardens but it was not open that day (renovation). Some other buildings in the park are the Pavilion of the Chinese Kitchen, the Gallants’ Building, the Chinese Palace.


When you are going to the park from the train station, you can see a tall beautiful church. At first I didn’t know where to go and asked a local woman and she explained me the way. There is also a pond in the park with swans and ducks.


This piece has no spirit of adventure in it, of course, but I wrote it for presenting rather a comprehensive picture of what’s interesting in St. Petersburg vicinity and I also have very warm memories of that time when I lived in St. Petersburg.


I’m going on the 1st of October to St. Petersburg, just to stay there and meet some of my friends; I’ll be living in a hostel. It’s very inconvenient to live in a hostel after having got accustomed to the flat. I will perhaps recall those days and try to remember some interesting stories or upload some nice photos from those days; I also may be willing to write short notes of the interesting things I see or do in the Northern Palmira this time.


So, that’s all I can say for now.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 18; dbt: 0.0556s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb