The end of my Russian adventure.....


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Northwest » Moscow
December 2nd 2014
Published: December 2nd 2014
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone!



I just wanted to put an update out there on things here in Russia and working here. The school I work for here has some really good folks as far as management goes, but due to the crashing Ruble I was forced to explore other options abroad. When I got here at the end of September it was exchanging in the 30's -1, as of today it is now 51-1...since we get paid in local currency it isn't beneficial for me to stay here working/traveling/waiting in between classes for most days more than 10+ hours per day. I started putting my CV out there for January jobs that are opening and got quite a few interviews including going back to Vietnam to teach at a small university, Turkey, East Timor, Colombia, Ecuador, and Mexico to name a few.



The country i decided on was..............Turkey. MAINLY because it is run by western staff and not locals. Also what contributed to my decision was how well I got along with the interviewer who has been awesome I must say. It is however 6 days per week which I hate doing, BUT again it's a 6 month contract, they are paying for my flight from Moscow, I get my own apartment free, modern and a 5 minute walk to my ONE center I'm teaching at. After riding the Moscow metro allllllllllll day long most days to go to different schools and private classes it will be a welcomed change. My salary will be about the same as I make here now, I say now because the exchange rate is horrible so we came here at the rate in the 30's-1 and on the exchange we would make close to $1,700 take home each month after paying the subsidized housing fee which is a joke honestly for the soviet block apartment we have and overtaken by roaches Lol. Now with the exchange the way it is we are making under $1,000 which is a huge difference because Moscow is not cheap by any means.



Some of the other teachers here are also testing the waters, but I think most will stay because these are kids who are just starting out teaching now fresh from college and whatnot. Me as the most seasoned veteran I think, maybe one or two others have about the same or a little more experience than me, but overall it's literally like a frat. Every weekend the youngsters go out and drink insane amounts and stumble home if they make it, as there has been a few incidents of cracked heads due to being too drunk and falling And also some people cannot handle their liquor and turn into assholes, which in-turn gets them punched out in the metro station....for apparently the third time lol. All in all it has been a good experience,but I realize how much older I am not only in age,but just rationality and maturity.



When I interviewed for this job in Vietnam via Skype with the owner I was explicitly asked what age groups I prefer, I told him straight up I don't want to teach ANY children. That's just my thing as I have taught all ages and I just don't like teaching young kids. He said perfect you won't have to teach any kids we can give them to other teachers who enjoy that. I said great! .....well ....that hasn't been the case so far, I have 2 second grade classes which I hate lol, and a 5th grade which is a little better but still. I know they are looking for more teachers to come in January because they expect some of us to leave in January because of the Ruble situation.



Overall I have been happy with management and some of the fellow teachers, as well as Russia itself. As I said it's mostly about that currency exchange and the unending traveling and waiting for classes that has gotten me (I was told in the interview there was traveling to be fair). Anyways I'm REALLY looking forward to the new 6 month adventure in turkey to explore the food, culture and history! After that I will be heading back to my beloved Colombia FOR SURE!!! already planning a 2-3 month adventure either crossing the Darien from Panama to Colombia or doing a canoe/camping trip down The Amazon Ecuador to Colombia to Brazil up the back way into Venezuela to Angel Falls, but as you know well as a traveller things and plans always change it's a gift and a curse when you have soooooo many places left to explore...so we will see.



Anyways thanks so much for taking a peek sorry no pics just an update! Happy travels all!

Advertisement



3rd December 2014

Fantastic follow up and I have enjoyed your blogs. You are living my dream.
3rd December 2014

Thanks so much!
Hi there, actually your blogs and adventures are greater than mine! Mine are mostly travel and work, I'm still waiting to get away and do some REAL traveling for a few months instead of always working in these countries :). I enjoy reading yours as well! Thanks so much for stopping in and reading and commenting as well I do appreciate it! As I said I am planning a few months adventure after my contract in Turkey is finished and I have some money saved. Definitely looking forward to that! Thanks again and keep up those awesome blogs!
3rd December 2014

Turkey it is!
Lucky. I do believe your lifestyle is the best way to experience the world...can't wait to do the same someday. In the meantime I will plan/daydream my next trip....canoeing the Brazilian Amazon! and hiking the northeastern sand dunes. Oh and Thanks for the blog feedback!
3rd December 2014

Sweet!!!
Yup that's my next adventure for me canoeing from Ecuador down the amazon to Manaus and up the back way into Venezuela to Angel Falls....either that or crossing the Darien by foot and boat :) still debating
11th December 2014

Keep the blogs coming
Always enjoy your thoughts and stories.Ah the joys of youth and drinking. We have a friend who has a list of countries he wants to return to because when he was younger and traveled all he did was drink until the wee hours. Now he can't remember much about the countries. As in most interviews they never really tell you "the complete" truth about what you will be doing. Glad you are enjoying the 5th graders.

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0384s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb