SE Asia - Volume 1


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Northwest » Moscow
November 24th 2012
Published: November 24th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Houston à Moscow (12 hours; Depart: 4:50 pm Friday, Arrive: 1:50 pm Saturday)

So, the fastest way to get to Singapore from Houston is actually through Moscow. If you fly Singapore Airlines, you take the same plane the whole way there and refuel for an hour in Russia. Gate to Gate, it’s about 24 hours total. I’m fortunate enough to fly business class on these long haul trips, so that makes it easier. (That said, SQ’s economy is still top-notch).

Anyways, I started this flight by working on a music set to record for Jenn on my laptop DJ program. I am by absolutely no means even close to calling myself a DJ, but if I could be anything when I grow up, it would be a DJ/producer. Unfortunately, I only discovered this a year ago, so I’m still very much a novice, but have loved the initial dabblings in it so far. Early in the flight, I was working on the set list when the flight attendant came by for drink requests. She looked at my computer screen and headphones and asked me if I was a DJ (keep in mind that I look like some punk bearded kid sitting in business class with my retro-commie hat and Brazil t-shirt on). I joked that I tried to be. She then asked, “Are you playing in Moscow? Or maybe in Singapore?” OMG. Moment of truth. I think I’ve dreamed about this so many times. I very badly wanted to say yes/both/either, but ultimately, I settled on compromise and the truth (admittedly, erring a bit on deceit). “No, I’m going to Australia”, I heard myself say. Probably the closest in my life that I will ever come to someone thinking I’m famous for something unrelated to resembling Zach Galafinakis. Now if only I get asked for an autograph when I de-plane, I can sleep peacefully on the next flight…..


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



24th November 2012

I've found that strangers are much more likely to strike up conversations with me when I'm wearing a Brazil shirt of some kind... Also, props on *almost* achieving DJ status!
24th November 2012

Brazil shirts
You're so right, Pedro. It's an easy way to find some random dialogue. Often times, they assume I'm actually Brazilian. then i tell them that Jenn bought the shirt at Target! haha

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0599s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb