Time to go home...


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Northwest » Moscow
January 30th 2013
Published: April 9th 2018
Edit Blog Post

I awoke early at 6am in order to get showered and ready. The hostel only had two showers so I did not want to have to fight for one of them. It turns out it was too early though. I was all ready to go by 6:30am and I really did not need to leave until 8am. So, I just surfed the net for a bit and made sure my flight was on time. I checked out of the hostel just after 8am and headed for the metro.

I rode on the green #2 line from Novokuznetskaya to Belorusskaya in order to get the Aeroexpress train back to SVO airport. I arrived at the airport at 9:35am and was checked in by 10am. This flight was wide open for stand-by travel so i was not concerned. I just walked around a bit and then settled into a seat near the gate for the last hour. The flight was departing at 12:35pm and at about noon, they made an anouncement that I did not want to hear.

It went like this: blah, blah, blah.......engines.......blah, blah, blah.........captain.........blah, blah, blah........run.........blah, blah, blah.......delay.

Oh great! Well, the pilot did have to run the engines for a few minutes but soon gave us the news that we were good to go. We boarded at 12:25 and since it was a light load, they finished quickly. I think we only took a 10-20 minute delay in all. They had some great sparkling wine as we boarded!

Soon we were airborne back to New York. I was in business class seat 1D on Delta flight 31. It was a 767-400 aircraft. I had some gin and tonics during the meal, which was almost the same as going over. I also watched the movie "Argo" during the meal, which I liked. It was bumpy for a little and then smooth over the Atlantic and then bumpy again over Canada. I slept and listened to my ipod most of the way after the film.

Arrival into New York was smooth and we were on time at 2:15pm. I cleared customs and immigration within 15 minutes and went to my connecting gate. My flight to Indianapolis was on a Delta Connection CRJ-900 and left at 3:50pm. I cleared for first class seat 2A on the two hour flight and had three gin and tonics.

I really loved Moscow and hope to return! I also hope I can convince my family to go with me next time. I think they would enjoy it.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0597s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb