Москва 2013


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Northwest » Moscow
January 28th 2013
Published: April 9th 2018
Edit Blog Post

I had wanted to visit Moscow since my youth, I mean who wouldn't want to? The visa process always turned me off though, but I finally figured that it must not be too bad. People go all the time, so how difficult can it be? It was actually easier than I though it would be to get the visa and they have eased restrictions recently. They now even offer three year visas!

I had planned to go in early Fall of 2012, but I had the business of life come up. I was then going to wait until Spring and bring my family with me. They told me they had no desire to go, but said I could go if I wanted to. I could not wait and so I braved the cold winter and put in for my visa in late December.

It took longer than normal to receive it back due to the holidays. I did get it back in time though and was set to go!

I was first trying to go on January 20 and it looked like it would work out. However, within the week of travel, the flight loads became close to full. I decided to wait one week. My co-worker Jerome(Castex21) was to go with me but he had visa troubles and did not get it back in time.

I departed Indianapolis on Sunday January 27 at 9:10am on a Delta Connection EMB-175 to New York/LGA airport. I was in first class seat 1C and enjoyed a vodka cranberry on the quick flight. Upon arrival, I went down to catch the airport bus to JFK airport. The ride took about 20 minutes and I went in and checked in for the Moscow flight.

It was about noon and the flight did not leave until 4:10pm, so I grabbed some lunch at Burger King and then waited.

About 30 minutes before departure, I cleared for business class seat 6B. I boarded and had a glass of sparkling wine, then settled in for the 10 hour flight. We departed New York quickly and soon I was with a gin and tonic in hand. Then came the appetizers of shrimp and pumpkin bisque soup. Salad and bread was next. Finally the main course of beef with wasabi mashed potatos and snap peas. I love that meal and have had it before. I had a few more gin and tonics and ice cream for dessert. I put on my ipod and put the seat in the sleep position and slept for 4 hours or so.

I woke up about two hours before arrival and had the granola cereal breakfast with fruit. Once we landed in Moscow/SVO airport, I was through customs and immigration within 5 minutes. I took Rubles from an ATM and walked over to the Aeroexpress train to the city. I bought a return ticket for 580 Rubles, or about $20 USD. There was a train leaving in 5 minutes so I hurried to catch it. The train was not even half full and took about 35 minutes to get to Belorussky Station. I exited the station and went around the corner to the metro. I purchased a 10 trip metro card for about $8USD and rode the green #2 line four stops to the Novokuznetskaya stop. I exited to street level and walked 5 minutes or so to my hostel, which was named 108 Minutes Hostel. I checked in and showered and changed clothes. I had dressed in 3 layers for the cold weather that I would be out in. It was about 1pm, so I left to go explore. Even though it was just one metro stop to Red Square, I decided to walk in order to see the neighborhood. It really was not bad and took only about 15 minutes. Once I got to the bridge that spans the Moskva River, I was amazed at what I saw. Finally, I was seeing the famous St Basil's Cathedral! What a beautiful and picturesque building! I snapped many photos and walked all over Red Square and also went inside the GUM Department Store.

I was disappointed that you could not go inside the Kremlin walls and also that the Lenin tomb was closed as well.

After a little while, I walked up the street to the TASS office. Just something I wanted to see. On my way back to Red Square, I walked the outside of the Kremlin walls and saw the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier. It was about 5pm now so i went inside GUM and had a coffee. I wanted to stay at Red Square until dark so I could get some night pictures. It was finally dark at about 6:30pm and I shot my photos. I then walked back to the hostel. I was meeting travelbuddy Milena(mila_bakh) at 8pm for dinner at a restaurant very close to my hostel. I got back to the hostel at 7:30pm and waited until about 5 minutes until 8 and then went to the restaurant. We met at Dve Palochki, meaning "two chopsticks". It was Asian fusion and was very good! I even went back on night two in Moscow. We had a nice dinner and great conversation for a few hours and then we parted ways. She took the metro home and I went back to the hostel. I was very tired so I went to sleep after some internet surfing.


Additional photos below
Photos: 38, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0211s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb