Borrow from Paul Theroux


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Far East » Yakutsk
May 9th 2014
Saved: May 29th 2016
Edit Blog Post

On his Trans Siberian Railway journey, famous author and traveler Paul Theroux wrote about the leg to Khabarovsk. "The countryside then was so changeless it might have been a picture pasted against the window."

He says it put him to sleep. We shall see what happens to me, since this leg occurs near the start of my trip. It was near the end of his trip, over the famous Amur River. They were scurrying to catch flights or ferries. Not me, I am just settling in for the journey.

I hope by now, I have met some eastern Russians. And I wonder who I will be sharing my roomette with? Better yet, what will I find in the way of food? Will it be boiled chicken and boiled potatoes?

And how well will I sleep at night? I may end up sleeping in the day, due to time zone changes, and miss the stations where we get to shop on the railway platforms. The locals are out selling their wares, presumably since the food on the train is either not very good. I have brought along a few things to sustain me.

So, what did I bring? Peanut butter, jelly, cup of noodles, ham jerky, beef sticks, roasted nuts, raisins, breakfast cereal, dry soup mix, instant coffee, and tea bags. Did I forget anything?
<br id="ecxFontBreak" />

COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader_blog_bottom



Comments only available on published blogs

Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0201s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb