Snow!


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Centre » Yaroslavl
November 20th 2005
Published: January 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

A move of her own.A move of her own.A move of her own.

Bhav (bottom right) shows us what we're doing wrong.
The biggest room in Avan-Gard is like a set from a James Bond film, with a metal dancefloor and ripped leather sofas on the first floor. The DJ played very loud techno-trance with the bass turned up, stopping every half an hour to invite people to join in with a strip show on stage. One man didn't know what he was volunteering for and ended up completely naked. Even when people were dancing there were strippers above us, with the men leering at them. In Russian style the girls wiggled their hips on their own on the stairs, waiting for the boys in the middle to invite them to dance. Precious and I were the first ones to go to the dancefloor. None of us were sure how to move to techno-trance, or what to think of the surroundings.

It snowed again today. When I woke up at 10 it was falling hard and had settled on ulitsa Bolshaya Oktyabr'skaya. It was already ankle deep when I went for a walk in the afternoon. I didn't get back until night-time. I wanted to see everything in the snow so my stroll took me as far as the House of Culture on Prospekt Lenina to the Universam supermarket on Tolbukhina, the furthest places I know in each direction from Yartek. The Yaroslavl streets are mostly white and black, with some red, green, blue and yellow wherever there is a small 'produkty' kiosk on the side of the street. They look attractive, especially after a month of miserable skies and mud.

I took photos along the way, then went 'home' and fell asleep as I was putting them onto my computer.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.2s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1669s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb