Voronezh


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Centre » Voronezh
December 10th 2007
Published: December 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Wooden BridgeWooden BridgeWooden Bridge

I do not think that is the name of it, but this was a famous bridge where a lot of marriages take place.
I decided to venture to another Russian city, south of Moscow, called Voronezh. Of course me, I decide I can do it by train and I have to admit, I am getting better at it, but still not real comfortable. This time, unlike when I went to St. Petersburg, I asked the porter where my room/bed was. After she tells me three times and I am still standing there, she got the idea. (Actually, she was very nice about it.)

When I got in the room, my cabin partner was already there and ready for bed. This was around 8 PM. He may have been on the train when it arrived in Moscow for all I know because I was early for the train. I sort of get comfortable and start reading. I grab the pillow from the bunk above and rest against when all of the sudden someone else comes in our cabin. Dasha helped me with the tickets and I know I ordered first class, which means only two people in the cabin so I call Dasha. Not that she can really do anything about it now, but I call her to confirm I had first class tickets.
Overnight TrainOvernight TrainOvernight Train

This time, I has the porter show me to my room/bed so I did not accidently go in the wrong room like I did when I went to St. Petersburg.
She thought I did as well, but all I know there is three people in the cabin.

The third guy was very nice and even tried to speak to me. The first guy was nice as well, but he was not very talkative to anyone. I decide I had better put the pillow back since it probably is not mine even though there were only suppose to be two of us in there. Sure enough, just as we are getting ready to leave, a fourth guy enters the cabin. Now, he was rude to everyone and of course he is sleeping on my side of the cabin.

We get started and everyone pretty much gets ready for bed, expect the grumpy guy who is still sitting on my bed. After everyone turns off their lights and he is still reading, on my bed, I decided I am going to bed and climb up in his bunk. I did not care about sleeping up top and if I can go to sleep, why not and I already used that pillow...lol Again, I do not think I made him happy because he had already laid his shirt up on that
Train StationTrain StationTrain Station

Not too many stories to tell on the train ride; all went well.
bunk but I figure he can move it since he wanted to stay up reading on my bed so off to sleep I went.

The next morning I arrived in Voronezh to snow, but it was warmer than Moscow. I toured around the city seeing the sights and I have to admit, I was not that impressed. Nothing wrong with the city, but it looked like most of the old Russian cities I have seen so far. However, with that said, I do not regret going as you all know me, I love to travel. I did not have any problems while in Voronezh other than the delay coming back but it all worked out well.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Dedicated for ScienceDedicated for Science
Dedicated for Science

I do not know the name, but this was built for the Sciences.
ChurchChurch
Church

Like every town I have been to in Russia, we had to have the traditional Russian church in the center of town.
Voronech "Sea"Voronech "Sea"
Voronech "Sea"

They call this river the Voronech Sea. It divides the city, old and new.


21st December 2007

Train
Rofl ... 4 people in one cabin ... crazy Russia as always
26th August 2010

hello! I want to..
Hello, I also want to make a trip to Voronezh, I would like to know more about the trains you took.. I plan to fly from montreal to moscow, then either plane or train to voronezh. have you had any run-ins with the police? what about searches of your lugage? what are the most important advice you would give to a first fisitor to russia? thank you in advance

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0542s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb