Sibiu - day 3


Advertisement
Romania's flag
Europe » Romania » Transilvania » Sibiu » Sibiu
May 3rd 2010
Published: May 4th 2010
Edit Blog Post

This is the day I was looking forward to. Some time with the kids. N. drove us to school because of his after-school plans. I walked around the center a bit until the English classes started. Word spread that I was there, as many of the older kids may have remembered my last visit. Unfortunately, I really couldn't identify any of them but they flocked around be nevertheless. Their bright faces were inspiring and their excitement was palpable.

Carmen brought 6A and 6B together in one room in a special session. It was one way to make best use of my presence without interupting the flow of the school day. There were 6 long benchrows of kids and I placed myself in the middle of them, as opposed to in front. The Romanian way of teaching seems a bit rigid and I tried to be more relaxed and open in my expectations of the answers. I tried to involve as many as possible, drawing out the ones who were drifting and too quiet. They gave me a wonderful little souvenir and one boy wrote me a hand-delivered letter on behalf of his class.

The evening was capped by the weekly two-hour football game played by a number of the teachers, their friends and a few of the oldest boys. Their way of keeping the blood flowing was pretty cool.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.258s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0734s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb