It's Friday...ish


Advertisement
Romania's flag
Europe » Romania » Transilvania » Cluj » Cluj-Napoca
August 7th 2008
Published: August 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

DenisaDenisaDenisa

oops... ONE letter off from the best name ever :)~
Well today is my Friday as I've planned to see Brasov tomorrow. Thaty's where Dracula's Castle is. It's a 3.5 hour train ride if I take the 5am...or a 5 hour train ride if I leave at 10:30. I'll do my best to hop on that 5am short trip.
Camp was fun today... not much to report. Some kids are starting to go on holiday so I think the numbers should even out and possibly even decline.
The kitchen staff prepared chicken liver for lunch today... I think thats one tradition I'll skip.
Ioana and I will be heading off to the baby house in a lil bit...
... back from the baby house. Those are the cutest kids ever!!! It's a really great program they have going for them. The baby house is like a day care for kids older than 3 months old. Newer laws have mandated no kids under 2 months can be institutionalized, which I thought was interesting after watching all those Dateline specials on the Romanian orphanages. Ioana and I got a tour of the facility which is nothing but babies everywhere! I loved it. We arrived while the kids were sleeping and ate some lunch.
Babies!!!!!Babies!!!!!Babies!!!!!

Alicia & Mihai (I think)
The food here is so hearty I love it! Then after dessert the kids were awake and it was playtime!! I think the kids there today ranged from about one year to 2 and a half or so. There were only 5 and I was told usually there is about 10, the youngest being only 6 months.
The director, Ancunta, told me a story about a girl who was only 21 years old and had her second baby recently. For awhile this girl was in nothing but denial about the pregnancy and it was pretty much when she gave birth that she gave up her diabetes excuse for gaining weight. It's rough situations like this that I am grateful for people like those at the baby house who care enough to help... especially here where they get little to no funding from the government.
I cam home and took a shower and a nap. Thats about it. Still staying away from the chicken liver....
Va Iubesc!
Jenisa


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

"Yayyy""Yayyy"
"Yayyy"

it was the peak of my day teaching the kids "yayyyyy!!!!"
Tough Guy!Tough Guy!
Tough Guy!

loved it!
More Yay!!!More Yay!!!
More Yay!!!

just makes me smile!
Grrr faceGrrr face
Grrr face

but adorable!


Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0472s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb