Day 1...Done


Advertisement
Romania's flag
Europe » Romania » Transilvania » Cluj » Cluj-Napoca
July 29th 2008
Published: July 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Munich AiportMunich AiportMunich Aiport

Not the coolest but I liked how green it was EVERYWHERE
Greetings!
I've survived my first day in Romania. It is about 9:30pm here and I just finished having some very fresh watermelon with the gentlemen that maintain the grounds. Sooo... how's it been so far? The plane flight was long but the layovers and customs thing were way easier to manage than I expected. I met my new friend Ioana (kind of like Joana) at the airport and the lady who runs the school Ancunta (yea, I don't know any sort of English equivilent). They brought me flowers from the field in front of the school which smelled AMAZING!Then we drove to the school/shelter.
I got the tour of the town and grounds. It's kind of like mexico but older. When we got to the school they had a big lunch set up and to be nice I ate a big fat sausage.. for anyone who's keeping track I'm still a vegitarian but felt like I should be polite since they made the meal for me... and I have rolaids so it's okay.
Then Ioana and I just hung out, she looked at my tourist book and we decided what I should do and not do. Apparently Dracula's castle is like
Plane to ClujPlane to ClujPlane to Cluj

Tiny little 20 row (2 seats per) plane.... we loaded from the ground, privet jet style :)
a 5 hour train ride away so I MIGHT not get to see it but we're working on a possible weekend trip with Ioana and her cusin who has a car.
I'm slowly picking up the language, luckily it is latin based so my quasi-spanish speaking part understands a little.
other than that not much to report. I'm settled into my bedroom which is the length of a twin size bed and maybe 6-7 feet across, tiny but cozy. I'm glad I took the blanket from the plane (okay the pillow too) because they're blanket is solid wool... itchy much? With the plane blanket in between though it's perfect!
I'm having fun so far, I met some of one gentlemans friends, this guy (the friend) is 22, married with 2 kids, WOW. Not for me but more power to him. I met his youngest baby who is about a year old and has the biggest blue eyes you've ever seen. SO cute!
I think that's it, I start with the children tomorrow so that should be great!!!! Goodnight/morning!
XOXO
Va iubesc (i love you all)
Jenisa


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Spreckens eh Deutche?Spreckens eh Deutche?
Spreckens eh Deutche?

haha, I thought it was cool, we're so used to the spanish/english planes.. this one had German


30th July 2008

nice airline
Gee....That was nice of Luftansa to GIVE you a blanket and pillow !!
30th July 2008

nice airline
Gee.......It was sure nice of that airline to GIVE you a blanket and pillow
30th July 2008

hi from tracy
saw your first blog, sounds like u r having fun. will check your blog every day. how is the weather over there? is it nicer than in california. are u in a big building or a small building ? how big is the city ? can't wait 2 read your next entry. i already miss u. xoxo gabrielle
30th July 2008

jenisa trip
how you doin in romania and also i like your blog its awsome? how is it like up there? in romania do they talk different? love you jenisa xoxoxoxo from katelynn
30th July 2008

Drum Bun!
Draga Jenisa: Glad to read your post, Ancuta also wrote me that you arrived safely. Love your blog. Te Iubesc (love ya) Connie PS Drum Bun means 'bon voyage' in Romanian!
30th July 2008

Hi 2 Tracy from Romania
Hey Girls!!! To answer your questions... ~ The weather is about the same as the Bay Area.. cold in the mornings but hot by noon. ~ The building I'm in is relatively small (compared to what we're used to for schools) but it's very well kept and feels like a home. ~ I'm not sure how big the city is but it is a capitol city and big enough to have to take a bug across it. So I probably couldn't walk around the whole thing in one day, let alone comfortably. ~ and Yes, I am learning so much Romanian Language it's crazy. I can say I am an only child and my cat is my sister. :) "Nu frate o sora, my (mi) prisica es mi sora"... pronunciation is a bit tricky but I'll get there. I miss everyone SO much and can't wait to do more so I can tell you all about it... XOXO
12th August 2008

hi from tracy
Im sorry it took me so long to send u back a email , I was so busy with school.I cant wait to see u. I allready miss u.i want to here there language. have you seen the hole town? what else can u say in there language? do they write diffent? xoxo from gabrielle

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0617s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb