Pictorial of Simple (Romanian) Village Life and What Makes Winter so Enjoyable


Advertisement
Romania's flag
Europe » Romania » Transilvania » Brasov
March 20th 2014
Published: November 20th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Snuggling with animals, that's how to get through a cold winter. Any time I get a chance to be near furry, fluffy, fuzzy, four-leggeds - and believe me, I relish every opportunity - I snag it up. This of course was not my intended volunteer job that winter, but it was certainly a definite perk!



During the two winter months (mid-Jan to mid-March, 2014) spent in the middle of the Carpathian Range, the mountains outside Brasov, Romania, I spent ample time snuggling, cuddling and keeping warm, happy and fulfilled with the amount of snuggle bunnies I found to keep me company. Not one of them complained.



There were plenty of non-snowy days, but each time I woke - after the snow silently fell in the night - I felt compelled to drink in the unbelievably gorgeous snowy conditions. I spent much time stomping in fresh powder. Puppy, the neighbor's puppy, would accompany me on all walks I took in the village and the outskirts; it's still up for debate who had a more-enjoyable time.



Time spent in the village went rather quickly but I never once got tired of looking at the amazing nearby mountain range, Piatra Craiului. Now, one of these years I must come back in warmer weather and climb it. Anyone wanna join?



After leaving the village I spent more time in the (now) snowy city of Brasov before heading to Bucharest, taking another volunteer stint in the south of Romania, and eventually crossing the land border into Bulgaria where I found myself volunteering one more time. This took me to late spring 2014.



Enjoy the photos...there are many, I agree, but they show just how the scenery can drastically alter with changing light and weather conditions.


Additional photos below
Photos: 59, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Bucegi Mountain RangeBucegi Mountain Range
Bucegi Mountain Range

A view from much of the village
Piatra Craiului RangePiatra Craiului Range
Piatra Craiului Range

There's so much snow in them thar mountains
View to Piatra CraiuluiView to Piatra Craiului
View to Piatra Craiului

No snow in sight...today
View out my bedroom windowView out my bedroom window
View out my bedroom window

Looking towards the Piatra Craiului Range after a heavy snowfall
Mountain TrafficMountain Traffic
Mountain Traffic

This *really* does happen in mountain villages...


Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0724s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb