Searching for the Dracula castle??


Advertisement
Romania's flag
Europe » Romania » Transilvania » Brasov » Brasov
July 15th 2008
Published: July 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Its going to rain today, and the houses here have 'beaten metal' roofs, which require further beating at 7am...as they've all unbeaten themselves due to the 40+ degree weather.
Due to the late arrival of my train (by only 5 hours) yesterday, I'm really lucky to have not only lasting imprints from sticking to the plasticky train seats, but also a room just under currently being beaten roof, in the attic. So, a rude awakening and a belated blog post!

I spent more time, money and self-inflicted minor injury in 'no-rules' Turkey than I meant to.
Being on a gulet (traditional *sailing* boat that did precious little sailing, though they did put the mainsail up for about 45 mins on the day that we had no wind so that the crew didn't have to do any actual work) taught me that once again, my skin doesn't tan, it just gathers a mass of freckles and then goes white again. So I laid claim to the sunbeds under the shadecloth and did nothing. We had a great crew and many many beers on the boat which is why I have so many bikini shots of G-Ruckus??

Having been ruined by 4 ancient cities in as many days, it was a relief to not have to get off the boat to see the ancient fortress of _____ (I should remember but I don't - though it was built in Lycean times) and even better to just have to walk through the ruins on the way to the beach once we got to Olympos.
Thinking that some touristy activity was in order we did, however, think it was a good idea to go and see the Chimera Flames - a natural phenomena whereby campfire sized flames lick up through the solid rock.
We were promised a 20 minute 'easy' walk to see them. But it wasn't easy, especially in flip-flops. Or in the dark without a torch. Or after drinking 4-5 beers.
No-one fell into the flames, but there were a couple of near misses on the way back down the hill as flip-flops (OK, OK they're called thongs) broke, steps collapsed and people (me) tripped on flat bits of ground.
After driving back, I somehow managed to get myself home and safely to bed in the tree house - which was a miracle considering how high in the tree it was, and how rickety the steps.

There are so many further Istanblue fuelled moments I could share with you - but this post is getting long. So in a nutshell -
*Cappodocia - saw penis shaped rocks - took photos.
*Bought Turkish sleeping tablets - just made me paranoid and kept me awake...
*Chilled couple of days in Istanbul, visiting the grand bazaar yet again and buying jewellery and beads
*Turkish Hamman - the one in London was better....

And on the train to Bulgaria - the land that is taking the USA on for large portion sizes and cheap cheap food - and now Romania.

One thing I don't understand about Eastern Europe is how few girls travelling alone here. There must be a reason, but I can't seem to figure it out...so once again, surrounded by men. And current plan has me heading into Moldova and the Ukraine. I'll keep you posted.

Advertisement



15th July 2008

hi dracugirl
hi katie glad you are in the far east of europe. eating cheese and snapping penis shots. most importantly, sending me post cards! thanks i got them. i haven't quit, no will keep you posted. xx jared p.s. toe is throbbing. p.p.s. you rock.
16th July 2008

WOW!!!
Thank you so much for your blogs it sounds fantastic!!! Keep having a great time!!! ooxoxo Raez

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0576s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb