Sweet stuff


Advertisement
Romania's flag
Europe » Romania » Dobrogea » Marea Neagra » Costinesti
July 30th 2006
Published: August 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

It’s been nice here in Costinesti too. I’ve had a wonderful time with my boyfriend. We played in the warm water and took pictures on the “stafilopods”. We hugged and kissed in the warm light…He’s been with me all the time and we’ve shared a lot of great moments together.

When the sun set in, there was party time!!! We went to the one place that remains the same every year (in a positive way I mean): White Horse. This rock and roll café or pub is awesome. It’s always crowded in here and the people are great and really know how to have fun. Some traveled for 16 hours and the first place they wanted to visit in Costinesti was White Horse. If you ever come here, don’t miss it! The music is like nowhere else. They’ve got rock, folk, blues, punk and jazz - only quality music. Small concerts are organized every evening to the delight of the public. I was here for 10 days and I listened to Ducu Bertzie, to Parlament, Luna Amara, Ghiuri Pascu (sorry if I misspelled any name!) and so many more were coming up. We also met some friends from Craiova and had a blast. At night we went to White Horse and got beer and other strong drinks, sang and danced and sometimes just stared at the crowd having fun. Everyone really felt the music and knew all the lyrics. White Horse is the one place my words can’t really describe. We played pool and others enjoyed ping pong games and darts. There’s a souvenir shop here too, but their merchandise is different and everyone who’s been here really knows what I’m talking about. The location isn’t special in any way, but the people who come here always, and I mean always, have fun.

We went on the beach as well and admired the lights, listened to the waves and had long strolls on the wet sand. I would have enjoyed a bath at night or falling asleep on the beach, but it was too cold for that…The fresh air and the breeze - they were all I could wish for after living in the southern part of Romania where the highest temperatures in the country are (30-40 celsius degrees in summer).

I also enjoyed the daily shows put up by the local pilots who had to exercise. Their tricks in the air proved to be a different type of entertainment for the people on the beach. Like hundreds of other tourists, I sat down on my towel and watched with amazement how they twisted and twirled in the air. Come to think of it, I’ve always liked the idea of flying. I’ve never been afraid of heights (I live on the 10th floor of my building), but I think it mostly comes from the family. My mother flew when she was younger than I am today (I’m 21) and she’s got legal papers to prove it. I think I would have appreciated my parents letting me get a pilot license. I was too young when I got this idea and I needed approval. I did not get it and they were probably right. I could have broken my neck…

I got a chance to do a little artistic photography (You can see the black and white or sepia pictures), but I think pictures with the sea or the sun set would have been more appropriate for the season’s trip. However, I was not inspired in this direction as in the previous years…

All and all, things do work out when you have friends around you…


Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0386s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb