Oporto "Oh, Porto" birthday trip 10'


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Northern » Porto
January 8th 2010
Published: January 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

GEDC1986GEDC1986GEDC1986

view from hotel room
Birthday blog-
Well, I’m 28 and in Porto, Portugal. Everything is ok for the most part; I had an incident occur when I didn’t end up printing my boarding pass prior to travel. Once I did arrive though I had a pretty easy time making it into the town center and to my hotel. The hotel itself is quaint, enough room for a twin-size bed and a television set. I decided to go out and try to locate one of the gay bars I researched. Again, I utilized the metro system, which is in fact, much like Madrid’s in that it is very clean and easy to use. I made it to the bar to find out that it was closed. I don’t believe that any gay bar is open during the week. I was a bit disappointed. I came to the conclusion that this trip didn’t necessarily have to be “gay”, I didn’t have to go searching for gay things to do. I could be the “tourist” Mark, the “American” Mark, or just the “older, more mature” Mark. I liked that idea.
A small diner was open and I ordered a bocadilla and beer. Afterwards I retreated to my
GEDC1987GEDC1987GEDC1987

view from hotel room
room and watched mighty Aphrodite. I was tired enough to fall asleep quite soon after the movie had ended.
I awoke this morning in order to take advantage of the continental breakfast that was included with my hotel stay. The coffee and croissant was pretty good. My mood lifted as I awoke and realized that today was my birthday. I showered and got ready and went down to ask how to get to Vila Nova de Gaia, where most of the port wine is located. The walk was fairly quick, and the weather was pretty nice for it being January and midway into the winter. I made it to where the map said the wine tasting would be. I walked and walked, it was mostly uphill this search. I ended up finding one of the Taylor Wine Cellar.
There was only one other gentleman on the tour, I was relived that he spoke English, so I would be able to understand. It was very interesting to hear the history of port wine, and how it is exported from Douro to Vila Nova de Gaia and stored for years and years depending on the type of wine. At the end
GEDC1988GEDC1988GEDC1988

view from hotel room
there was a tasting. I purchased an additional glass, a vintage 2003, to commemorate of my trip and remember my birthday. I walked down the hill fairly buzzed and noticed that not many people were out, I was perturbed. “Where the fuck is everyone in Porto?” It felt like a dream because I was pretty buzzed, giving the dreamy-like state, and the air had a tint of blue. No one was around but I could hear life all around, activity and noise. I could smell food cooking and the ocean air brushing through the streets like a stray dog. Not until a while later did I begin to see actual people, even other tourists gather around the big orange tour bus to guide them around Vila Nova de Gaia and surrounding areas.
My plan was to enter another wine tour and tasting. I found one near the river’s edge, and it turned out an English tour was to begin within half an hour. I wanted to get something small to eat so I remained close to the river and walked awhile longer until I discovered something that resembled a pizza hut and grabbed a beer and some cheesy bread.
GEDC1995GEDC1995GEDC1995

before crossing the bridge
I didn’t want to eat a big meal because I would be drinking more wine, and I was not very hungry to begin with. The second tour was interesting, much of the information from the first tour (with different history name wise of the port owners) was repeated, which was good because I was pretty buzzed from the last tour and it forced me to recall information I was given merely an hour prior. This tour ended also with another wine tasting.


Pleasantly drunk I deemed it best for me to head back towards my hotel, or perhaps some shopping was in order. I was feeling real good, and the clouds that hovered over Porto earlier in the morning had lifted and the sun shown over the river and reflected light out onto the ocean and beyond. I ended up catching this lift up into the center of Porto. I was feeling rambunctious and wanting to see more of the city. I walked around and saw much of what I had the evening before, except there were people out. Many people. It was interesting to see the crowd, I wondered to myself what they were up to, how
GEDC2000GEDC2000GEDC2000

the other side of the bridge
they were spending their day, my birthday, and whether I would make any friends in this foreign land. Unfortunately that did not happen. I did end up finding this beautiful black and white shirt from Zara, that I declined purchasing because it had a few strings sticking out of it, and one other shirt at a shop because it was €30 and rebajas would soon be coming to Madrid at the end of the month. Slightly less drunk, and more tired than anything else, I thought best to head to my room and maybe nap. I watched my favorite parts of Closer, for some reason it came into memory as I was walking around, and when I was charging my iPod did I realize I had downloaded the movie weeks ago. After the movie had ended I wanted to go out and try to find free Internet. A café advertised free wifi, though it did not turn out to be true. That is why I am on here, on my birthday, writing about my experiences thus far today. I have no idea what to do, if no bars are open my options are pretty reduced as to how I can celebrate this, my birthday.

Wednesday. Well I just awoke from a nap and I wanted to keep with the spirit of recalling, my birthday “Oh” Porto trip (clever, right?). Last night after I had left the café I returned to my hotel and purchased some hotel Internet, and decided to take Rachele and Danny’s advice about Plano B. They recommended this café/club/art space to go and check out, as Rachele said: “its homebody friendly”, which I appreciated. To no avail, this place was also closed. I was perturbed once again, “WHAT THE FUCK DOES ONE DO IN PORTO?” I was hungry and wanting a good meal. I broke down and entered the restaurant that was located below my hotel. The Guarany restaurant is a pretty classy place, there was a grand piano in the corner with a gentleman playing light contemporary tunes, the waiters donned tuxedos and were extremely polite. I was seated and Unsure as to where I would begin, I thought maybe I should try something new and order the duck. They were out of the duck. So I went for the steak. I was recommended several wines for each course of the meal, which I
GEDC2013GEDC2013GEDC2013

i believe these ships are called barcos rabelos
accepted, and a huge basket of bread. There were several varieties of rolls and several spreads. I was brought out my first glass to taste and approve. Sold. The wine went terrific with the bread and I toasted myself for maybe the tenth time that day. The main course came and I was in heaven. The steak was so tender, it cut with such ease and the wine that accompanied the meat was superb. I toasted once again, and being lighted toasted myself, I did the Six Feet Under last episode “to Nate” toast. No one around me really paid much attention. I laughed to myself and thought about the day and my own private European adventure.
There was a film playing on a projector in the restaurant. It was about Portugal, like a travel video shot by a local (to my understanding). I absolutely loved it! Portugal is such an amazingly beautiful country and I wished dearly that I could speak the language (perhaps one day). The video came to the part about Oporto, and I viewed much of the places I had throughout the day, some of the wine cellars, cathedrals, and other monuments. I noticed the main square where my hotel was positioned and the restaurant I was in at that moment. I laughed aloud to myself, a waiter heard me and responded with his own chuckle, perhaps at amused by my response, or merely joining in at the celebrity of it all. For dessert I ordered a piece of chocolate cake, declining the last glass of tawny, it was my birthday but I wanted to have some money left in case there was anything open to go out to and see. I finished my meal and paid. The entire experience was completely satisfactory and fulfilling. I was very pleased. After the meal I wanted to return to Plano B or a gay bar/club in the vicinity of my hotel. Neither was open, so once again retreated to my room, on my birthday, slightly buzzed from my wine and completely nourished by my meal, I fell into a food coma and dozed off within the hour of an episode of Six Feet.
Wednesday morning. I felt good. My birthday was fairly successful; it wasn’t bad, definitely memorable. I was determined to make up for it in the evening. I made my way to the free breakfast the hotel offered once again, and showered. I composed a birthday mix, just a few songs that would help me to remember the occasion, Alicia Keys contributed, as I had very recently downloaded her album and it played throughout my walk along the Douro river.
The weather was slightly better than on my birthday, once again I utilized the Funiculaire quickly descended down, and crossed the Ponte De Luís bridge to Vila Nova de Gaia. Back at the port wine cellars, I reserved a ticket in the English tour queue. Once again, very little people were out. I felt that eerie tinge of frustration once again, was it really that I was there in the off-season? I walked around and stared out into the river waiting. This gave me time to think. There was so much to decide upon this coming year, and I haven’t made much of a decision as to whether I would remain In Europe or not. Where do my loyalties lie? With no more time to dwell on these questions I rushed to the tour where many others were also in line. I found this refreshing, since yesterday there was one or two others on the tours and tastings. This tour was my very favorite; the woman threw on her best performance, really educating the group on the port-making process, the history of the cellar (which was a monastery before) and in before the tasting, a short film of Douro which I found very remarkable. After the tour I went to eat, walked to another tasting and was drunk. More drunk than the day before, I wanted ice cream. Only after stuffing myself did I go back to my room and passed out from over-consumption. The heater in my room was on, which kept me in bed dreaming of being back home with friends, but as dreams go I awoke to the noise of the traffic outside in a room I hardly recognized upon rising out of slumber. Rubbing the sleep out of my eyes, I went to the bathroom and brushed my teeth, they ached mildly from the ice cream (this must be me aging). More episodes of Six feet Under to watch before searching for something to do. I remembered the gay club Boy’s R Us was open. Perfect. I dressed and walked around Porto before finally entering. The club reminded me of a high school prom, a giant mirrored-ball with sporadic lighting and nothing much more. There were a group of young people dancing quite well and singing perfect English, this was pretty amazing to watch. The men were quite fetching, I realized how differently I looked compared to this group. It reminded me slightly of Madrid; with the balding/large eyebrow/hairy men with bold facial features speaking in a language I had great difficulty understanding. I promised myself that I would do a better job at my language acquisition attempts this year, I would mean it when I say: “I tried and did my best.” I must improve my Spanish (that goes without saying) and I have a plan of action, which I will begin immediately upon returning to Madrid. So I left with those lingering thoughts on language and men; but only after I consumed about 5 drinks.
This morning I awoke, had my breakfast, showered and packed for my return to Madrid. I felt very good about my first real solo European excursion. I liked what I did and for the most part learned about a new place in the world. I didn’t make any friends, but I’m certain that if I knew a few more words in Portuguese maybe I could have made some contacts. It leaves the possibility for more travel. I would love to go to Lisbon, perhaps in the summer when I have more free time. All in all, I had a really well birthday and I look forward to the future.





Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 30


Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0406s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb