I Swear We Are Not Stalking You


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Northern » Porto
April 20th 2007
Published: August 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

4/20/07 Lisbon-->Porto

After arriving in Porto via bus and obtaining a map from a nearby hotel, we then proceeded to stand around for a while trying to figure out which way we needed to go to get to or hostel. Eventually we managed to orientate ourselves and make our way to our hostel. After checking in and dropping off our bags we went out to see Porto. We only had the remainder of the day and therefore began by walking to one of the bridges that we had crossed while on the bus. The view from the bridge was beautiful. I ended up leaving Jenny and Sudie, who headed back to the hostel to make dinner, and attempted to find a cache (my last chance in Portugal). Once again I was unsuccessful; since the cache was in a park and I had arrived at the park entrance after it had already closed (I was so close---less than 100ft away---arg). I turned around and made my way back, taking pictures of the city along the way (which was actually quite cute), even stumbling across an outdoor concert, complete with fog machines (even though it was still light out). I stayed for a bit listening to the Portuguese pop and watching the crowd. When I got back to the hostel, I made myself some dinner and Sudie, Jenny and I ate in the hostel common room. After dinner we were all in the kitchen cleaning up when all of a sudden the door opened and in walked Pete and Paul (two Australian guys we had met on the bus from Seville, and then randomly ran into again in Lagos). The look of utter confusion and disbelief that came over everyone’s face was priceless, as we all just froze contemplating the probability of us actually running into each other again (I really couldn’t believe it, I mean running into each other three times quite randomly had prompted each of us to swear that neither of us was stalking the other----so crazy). We all ended up sharing a bottle of Port wine (which we drank from espresso cups because of the lack of normal sized glasses), as well as some cheese and crackers and talking about the various differences between the countries we were from and studying. We all then proceeded to go out “in search of more Port”, instead we ended up stumbling upon a Karaoke place (if anyone could find that, it would have to be Jenny and Sudie), where we spent the next few hours listening to people sing as well as singing ourselves (I was dragged up for one song, but otherwise I watched the others as they sang). It was such a random night…singing at a Karaoke bar in Portugal with two Australians…very fitting for the last night of our amazing trip.




Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

PortoPorto
Porto

The random concert that I stumbled upon


Tot: 0.213s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 16; qc: 71; dbt: 0.1655s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb