Funchal


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Madeira » Funchal
October 9th 2022
Published: October 17th 2022
Edit Blog Post

Disclaimer - I was too tired to write the blog when I started, so I had given up. But as I went through the trip, I started doing a little more writing. I have gone back and spruced it up, but just barely, so hopefully this time it's not long enough to put you to sleep. Yet. 😊

Saturday October 8 – Started the morning pretty relaxed but was still nervous about the trip. Not the actual flying but the things I packed, getting to the airport on time, etc. I think I gave myself a bit of a stomachache and had a bit of a freak-out when getting ready to leave. As always. Then all was calm on the tram and train. Got to the airport and of course, my flight was delayed an hour, but this gave me an opportunity to go to the Swiss travel lounge. I was (perhaps sadly) quite impressed. Lots of hot food choices, with chefs, buffet-style, and people picking up your used plates or cups the moment it looks like you have finished with them. I never have a ticket that allows me access to any lounge, and this time it was all because my flight on TAP airlines was business class because it was cheaper than the economy seats on the same flight. I have no reason why. On the flight I got a small meal as well. Economy? They had to buy food if they wanted some. My flight changed in Porto, and in contrast, their lounge totally sucked. Cold food, kind of gross, no one working there. The only advantage was getting away from the masses, but even then, meh. Coming back, I’ll have no access to any lounge, no in-flight meals, and no checked bags. I didn’t check my bag on the first flight specifically for this reason, despite my ticket allowing two checked bags. The meal on the second flight was even more of a proper meal. The flight arrived at 10pm, just in time to get the infrequent and cheap bus to town, but with no good way to find the Airbnb apartment, I got a 40-euro taxi instead. Dang. I am far too cheap for that. The airbnb is a small studio apartment/large room with a small kitchen and bathroom. The owner is nice and lives just above, which is convenient.

Sunday October 9This morning I took it easy and it took a while to get properly motivated to get out of the apartment. I was figuring out what I would do, and where I would walk today. It’s a Sunday, so several things would be closed, and as always, I was feeling all kinds of indecisive. Finally made a move and went to visit the cathedral, walked all around both the west and east of Funchal, along the seafront to an old fortress on the water then decided to put away my map and just wander a bit. Everything is uphill, and I walked up to an old fortress and had a good view. Basically just spent the day wandering. Luckily the large supermarket was open, despite it being Sunday. I bought some groceries. The supermarket is in a mall, and there is a small food court. I decided to get a burger and bubble tea. Then I bought some groceries and started the long trudge uphill to go back to my place. Everything in every direction is uphill. Not a bad first day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.196s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 14; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0777s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb