Portinho


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Lisbon & Tagus Valley » Sesimbra
July 6th 2011
Published: July 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

6 July 2011 Almoinha

While I was away at school, our household increased in size. No, nobody gained weight, we took a foster dog for a few weeks from the local animal shelter. He was an older dog and had been reasonably trained. What a sweet pup. I returned him to the shelter last week with the help of some new friends here, Charlie and Julie. That evening, the dog made the trip to his new home in Norway with two other dogs which also being adopted.

I took a trip with C and J to their place in the middle of the Serra da Arrabida and wow. Is it nice. Nothing fancy and designer. Just 2.5 acres of fruit trees, grape vines, flowers and nice isolation. After tea on the terrace overlooking the garden, we headed out to get me home. On the way, they decided I needed to see Portinho da Arrabida so one bat-turn later, away we went.

What a great little town and beach. I want to live here! Unfortunately, I think everyone else does too as there are no for sale signs or for rent signs in town. I say town, it is a collection of maybe 30 houses.

I talked with the local dive shop operator and inquired about diving. He discussed his operation with the help of another diver who was working on an underwater documentary of some sort. One thing makes me nervous and I will be making discrete inquiries...he has a tick. About once every few seconds his head ticks to the left. Did he have this before diving or is this something that developed due to diving. For the uninitiated, this could indicate whether he has had a diving accident or not. I won't dive with people that are not at least minimally safe.

And, I will be finally diving into the water with Anthia Divers on Thursday. I hope to make two dives and blow some bubbles.







Advertisement



Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0206s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb