A day in the sun


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Lisbon & Tagus Valley » Sesimbra
June 6th 2011
Published: June 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

6 June 2011 Almoinha

Laying on the beach in Sesimbra, the time seems to stand still. The waves gently lap the shore, the water is cold and clear and the bikinis are small. What more can a guy ask for? Oh, and the beer tastes good.

A day at the beach gave us a bit of rest and now we are ready to attack the big stuff...Lisbon tomorrow, bureaucratic paperwork Wednesday and then house hunting to the north of Lisbon for Friday and beyond. Sometime in the middle of this, we have to look for an auto to buy.

We stopped by another little restaurant in Sesimbra a few days ago and it was again a hit. Gerrie had the grilled mackerel and I had the grilled swordfish. And he was swimming in the ocean just a few days before. I really like this aspect of living here. I didn't really eat that much seafood before I started working as a boat-boy. With that job, I had the good fortune to have fresh fish given to me on a regular basis. None of that frozen stuff for me...

The weather turned cold today. The wind picked up
LunchLunchLunch

And this swordfish was still swimming a few days ago!
from the north and the temp dropped to around 16°C! Wool socks and sweaters came out of the cupboard. That said, it is still pretty nice. I am waiting for the warm stuff to return.

On that note, I really like the weather patterns that rush through here. Real thunder and lightning like I haven't seen in years. It is really kind of comforting. Right now, the thunder is making noise outside and I am thinking that an early evening might be nice...


Advertisement



Tot: 0.313s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0528s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb