Last Day in Portugal (Day 22)


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Lisbon & Tagus Valley » Lisbon
June 1st 2010
Published: June 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

napnapnap

nap in the main square
As today is a travel day and my last day in Lisbon I didn't do anything real exciting. Went down to the Santa Apolonia train station to book my overnight train just to be safe. The plan is to try and rush from the Chamartin train station in Madrid where I will arrive, to the Atocha station where I would get a train to Granada. It's going to be close making that connection. If I miss it Ill just put my bag in a locker in a station and go wander around Madrid waiting for the evening train, not the worst back-up plan. Anyways, after that I went and took a nap on the steps of some monument in the main square here. Now hundreds of tourists will have pictures of this beautiful city square with me lying shirtless at the base of some statue. Good stuff. Also, I have to mention how, on this street nearby with a bunch of shops, these stores hire girls, usually attractive ones too, to dance either in the windows or on the sidewalk outside to draw attention to the store. It's pretty bizarre since it's usually simple shops like a shoe store or even
viewviewview

view from platform tower
a food market. Definitely turned a few tourist heads. Spent the next couple of hours wandering around trying to find a place to get a hair cut. I desperately needed it even though no one understands why since my hair seems real short anyways. But with this heat (been in the 90s the last few days) I was cutting off as much as possible. Finally found a nice little barbershop and had my hair cut by a man who was pushing 85-90. The old man had a deft touch though and I was quite pleased with the service. Hit up a Chinese buffet for dinner. I know that sounds weird in Portugal, but when I was talking to Fernanda (from Brazil) the other day she was asking what food I missed from home and I could not think of much. I realized today though that I am missing three things: taco bell, chipotle, and Chinese food. So I got my fix and headed on back to the hostel to hang out with everyone for a bit before catching my train at 10:30. Should be interesting. Goodbye Portugal, Hola Espana.

P.S. I picked up another gift for myself. Trying to
tower2tower2tower2

platform tower
get one in every country I visit. I usually wait too long and get something kind of lame like a flag or scarf so if anyone has any recommendations of cool stuff to get in a particular country post it in a comment or something. It just has to be something small, light and durable so I can carry it around with me till I make Dad take it all home with him from Paris. He doesn't know about this yet though so shhhh.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

prettypretty
pretty

pretty
dancedance
dance

street dance
coffeecoffee
coffee

popular coffee sport


Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0722s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb