Lisbon, Portugal


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Lisbon & Tagus Valley » Lisbon
April 15th 2009
Published: May 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

In Love with Lisbon




Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Yes, the eggs in that bread still have the shells on them...Yes, the eggs in that bread still have the shells on them...
Yes, the eggs in that bread still have the shells on them...

Taken from outside a bakery window in Lisbon
Living Lounge HostelLiving Lounge Hostel
Living Lounge Hostel

If you ever have a chance to go to Lisbon, I highly recommend this hostel! It's rated the #1 hostel in Europe by the NY Times. They had a cook who made dinner for us each night for only 8 Euros, including wine and dessert. They also gave us a free walking tour of the old city. It was a great place to meet other travelers and experience the hospitality of Portugal.
View over Old LisbonView over Old Lisbon
View over Old Lisbon

Castelo de St. Jorge is up on the hill in the distance
Moorish CastleMoorish Castle
Moorish Castle

Located near "Sintra" about 30minutes from Lisbon.
At Pena National PalaceAt Pena National Palace
At Pena National Palace

This palace was like a fairy tale castle
Western Red Cedar - I felt like I was back home in the Pacific Northwest!Western Red Cedar - I felt like I was back home in the Pacific Northwest!
Western Red Cedar - I felt like I was back home in the Pacific Northwest!

The king had trees from all over the world planted in the forest around his castle
Monestary Jeronimos Monestary Jeronimos
Monestary Jeronimos

Located in Belem, 20 minutes from Lisbon
Sardines  - Portuguese-style!Sardines  - Portuguese-style!
Sardines - Portuguese-style!

Not exactly what I expected when I ordered the fish for lunch...


9th May 2009

Wow!
I'm living vicariously through you!! I hear you're coming home soon! Thanks so much for sharing your travels with all of us! I look forward to seeing you!
9th May 2009

More great pictures!
As usual, your pictures make me want to visit a place that I had no prior desire to visit. You know how to tell a story! You look great in the coastline shot and your last picture of the fish made me laugh!
11th May 2009

I Love Lisbon Too
Your pictures are totally inspiring. The beauty of Lisbon is phenominal. You look happy, in spite of the sardines :-). Hope all is well. Ruthanne
11th May 2009

Gorgeous!
Great shots, LP! Thanks for sharing them.
20th May 2009

Hey Traveler
We finally got some commercial internet here in the desert so of course I had to check out your site. Portugal looks incredible! Just in case you were curious... that bread with the eggs in it is called jachnoon it's a traditional jewish sabbath dish and it's made a lot in the middle east and India. Hope this finds you well, in good spirits and with good friends! -Collin

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0523s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb