Prancing around Portugal


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Lisboa
January 30th 2012
Published: May 6th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hi all,







Arriving in Lisbon, I immediately fell in love with the city. The first day, I explored the hilly, tiled town and found that around every corner I found myself smiling. As nigh fell I kept wandering the streets with my camera in hand. It seemed to me that every building was lit, and the town sparkled at night, especially the tiled ground, reflecting the night lights and leading you to the ocean. Each day I would strap on my ankle weights and trek the town. There was a castle to explore, and colourful houses lining the streets that took you up and down, winding through the city. The colour surrounded me and I was filled with energy and intrigue for this city.







After a few days of exploring the city, I hopped on a bus and made my way to Cascais and Sintra... two incredible cities. At Cascais, I was tempted to spend time in this new, colourful, tiled town, but I wanted to run along the ocean and find the beaches dotting the coast-line. I set off with my backpack and arm weights, running for kilometers on end before realizing that I could run forever along the ocean. I waded into the water and enjoyed the sun on the beach, before climbing back up to the road and catching the next bus into Sintra. Again, I found myself in an enchanting town with a castle, incredible churches and hills taking you from one tiled, colourful area to another.







Portugal calmed me and I found myself wandering the streets, never bored of this experience, and smiling to myself. I could run along the ocean from one incredible moment to another, or hike the hilly-city and explore the streets with rows of tiny-tiny doors and laundry hung from each house or apartment. I truly felt like there wasn't a place that I found that I couldn't pause and take in the beauty of this city... Portugal, I am sure to be back one day!







Trish xx


Additional photos below
Photos: 36, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0512s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb