Hot


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Guarda » Gouveia
April 18th 2017
Published: April 18th 2017
Edit Blog Post

17th April

Last evening a drum band started up to accompany the singers. I wandered down the hill through narrow streets into the village to have a look. The band, mainly children were marching around the streets now without the singers. Back to camp but which way? Took a wrong turn & came across a huge long haired Alsatian, barking at me & generally going ape outside the kennel...but thankfully he was tied to it. Adrenalin hit again. I just couldn’t bring myself to go past it, the rope looked more than a little weak.

Woke to a cuckoo this morning instead of dogs, cockerels or babies. Got up to a misty morning with wet grass, went to get the bread & then sat with a cup of tea & watched the mistake clear from the valley below, just super. There was Dutch couple nearby & the wife was shaving her husband’s head, a rare sight at 9am.

Went off on the bikes to the town for cash & post office. It was hard going & we probably walked half the way as it was up & down steep hills in the heat. Got the cash no problem & went to the square for cold drinks & cake outside the church of St. Peter which was covered in blue tiles; to me it looked like a big Victorian toilet. Cathy waited whilst I went off to the CTT, post office, for a refund on 2 toll cards I’d bought because I didn’t think we’d need them. Long queue then after 10 minutes I was seen. With her pigeon English & my theatrical we eventually got it sorted. Refund please. No. Yes. Not possible. Oh yes it is. She got the manager & I used my phone to show them their own website which said refunds anywhere. He then went off, made 20 minutes of phone calls, came back & I got my refund. I was that long that Cathy texted me to see if I was OK!

It was quicker coming home thankfully. Had tea then a couple arrived on a BMW motorcycle all the way from Australia although they’d shipped the bike to the UK & started from London. They’re off around the world in their late 50s.

Going walking tomorrow with the lady from the site & a few others. A guided walk into the mountains but we’re sharing her car to get there.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



18th April 2017

Looks like you're having a jolly time!
Keep posting the updates I'm enjoying them a lot, LOL! Hope your doggy bites are getting better. I get Tricky to de-stress you when you get over here!

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0572s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb