Cheese, Tomatoes and Toil


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Central » Santarém
April 22nd 2015
Published: April 22nd 2015
Edit Blog Post

Three days, about 100 kilometers, Kel and I are both VERY weary. This afternoon, Kel used the pickup service from the hostel here in Santarem, which was a godsend. The day was 34 kilometers and ended with a steep climb. All the way up I kept picturing how her face would look if I had not suggested the pickup (hint: not real good). This was the first hill of the trip, as we have been walking up the Tagus River across farmland (once out of Lisbon).

Some quick observations of the country:


• Pilgrims are rare enough that everyone stops to wish us "Bom Viaje" or "Dias".
• Far more English speakers than in Spain
• Food... GOOOD! The cheese you get given as an appetiser - at this stage if I had to choose between Kel and the cheese... DON'T RUSH ME I'M THINKING!!! The thing is, I know that Kel would not choose me! She never looks that excited when I'm put on the table I can tell you.
• Lovely weather if a bit much sun... Suppose that's better than a bit much rain.
• Kel has a blister
• And a sore calf
• And sore shoulders
• But is a "#$%!$(MISSING)"# trooper!
• So cheap! The prices, not Kel...
• When I said farmland, I would hazard a guess that Portuguese eat only tomatoes and drink only wine (oh and the cheese - did I mention the cheese)


Now it's time for us to have a look around Santarem and eat a wildly inexpensive dinner. Hope they have some cheese! Cheers

Advertisement



22nd April 2015

I stayed at Santarem Hostel too. They sent me to Restaurante Saloio where I pigged out for 11 euros. Later I sat with the hostel owners on the terrace eating limpets, drinking wine and talking about Brierley, hostels and tomatoes.
23rd April 2015

24 April
David Tomorrow (24 )we arrive Tomar and Tstarted the way on 25 April. I hope you find.
23rd April 2015

We arrive in Tomar tomorrow too (hopefully)

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0581s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb