Hello Portugal!


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Central » Fátima
May 30th 2013
Published: June 3rd 2013
Edit Blog Post


The church of Fatima
I woke up early this morning so I could get to the bus station by ten. I packed all of my things and walked to the nearest bus stop. I lugged my suitcase about a mile, and quickly jumped on the bus that was already leaving. Once I got to the main bus station, I waited for my 7 hour ride to Portugal. A bus came up that was going to Lisbon, so I grabbed my stuff and tried to get on it. The guy informed me that it wasn’t the right bus. So I nervously waited. Finally, the right bus came up; I put my luggage in the bottom, and got on board. At our first stop, I really had to go to the bathroom. I didn’t want to get off and then have the bus leave me, so I waited. Well I finally decided I couldn’t handle it so I got up and nicely told the driver I needed to use the bathroom. He went off on me, in what I think was Portuguese, but let me go. I went to the bathroom super-fast and ran back on to the bus. Apparently he had told us that we had

My suite
about ten minutes to go the bathroom, but I couldn’t understand that. The rest of the stops, he walked down the aisle and held up his fingers for how many minutes we had. We got an hour to eat lunch, so I hurried and tried to find a bathroom. I ended up having to go into a bakery. The servers ended up speaking English and let me use the bathroom. I want hungry, but I bought two small flower cookies for later. Finally, after a very long bus ride, I made it to Fatima, Portugal. My instructions, given to me by the hostel, was that the bus would drop me off right next to Guesthouse Perreir. Well, that was for a different bus company. Once again, I took a lap around the city until I ended back at the train station. I then decided to at least try to ask someone. I asked the lady selling the tickets and she told me it was somewhere to my right. So I just kept walking until I found it. I was at the point of just picking one of the places when I luckily found it. The guy at the front desk

Really cool cross
showed me many rooms that I could choose from, since I am the only one here. He was a little too friendly with me, so I quickly hurried up to my room. I set all my stuff down and went to go find a supermarket to get food for dinner. Tomorrow I will be able to make a day trip to Coimbra, Obidos, or Tomar. We will see which city I choose!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



The hostel


3rd June 2013

how exciting for you...
was holding my breath during your full bladder bus trip. how exciting it sounds. you are a brave young woman. take care and be safe, pretty girl.... kive...mrs. linda

Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 19; qc: 63; dbt: 0.1048s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb