Portugal: Butt-Nekkid in the Back Seat


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Algarve
September 23rd 2012
Published: July 22nd 2015
Edit Blog Post

This was my 1st full week here in Tavira and the aim was to get a routine going with work, exercise, play, etc (and I ended up watching all season 1 of 24 again). Surprisingly life here in Portugal is expensive .... especially when it comes to gyms, internet, mobile package, etc ... because there isn't much competition. For example, there are only 3 mobile phone companies.

Tavira is broken up into many towns ... the main town where I live is Santa Maria. For yesterday's mission I decided to go exploring to another nearby Tavira town called 'Conceicao' as I'll be starting Zumba classes there next week. Next to this is 'Cabanas' which has it's own island, 'Ilha de Cabanas' (7km long) right next to 'Ilha de Tavira' (14 km long). I decide to park up somewhere and get on a boat to go to the island ... and the adventure begins.

Firstly it's all 1-way crazy small streets around there and I'm going along the pier the wrong way (puposely, shorter route) ... the Portuguese folk sitting by the cafes not looking impressed. There's nowhere to park but all of a sudden I see a stretch where 3 cars can fit, thinking "why are these not taken?" ... but I dont care ... I park up.

As I get out of the car, I decide it's too hot and I'd rather wear shorts (brought them with me in a bag) ... but there's nowhere around to get changed so I decide to sit in my back seat and do this, hoping nobody will walk by ... not tihnking that I'm right opposite a cafe and people can see me getting out of the front seat and into the back.

So there I am butt-nekkid in the back seat of my car when I see a sign next to me indicating a "No Parking Zone" (hence why nobody was parked there, makes sense all of a sudden) ... and now I can see an old Portugese couple approaching my car ... no doubt to kindly let me know I shouldnt be parked there. Im rushing to put my clothes back on before they get too close that I shock them into an early grave .... I make it just in time ... shorts on ... success.

That all over ... I line up to get on the boat where it says "Boats to the Island here" ... I'm the only one standing there ... a boat comes from the island to drop people back off into the town and as I'm about to get on it ... he turns around and leaves ... another one comes by ... this time I've learned I must be quick ... so I get on quickly and give him the €1.50 they're asking for ... he shakes his head and gestures with his hand to "piss off" ... so Im standing there like a muppet ... looking around thinking if there should be another place I should be catching the boat from. Eventually another boat arrives and this guy lets me get on ... explaining to me that the day is almost over and the last boat will leave the island in an hour ... "si si" I say ... and off we go.

The island isn't as awesome as Tavira Island ... you can't do summer olympics with rocks (Ste knows what I mean) or break into lighthouses ... there's nothing there except a lifeguard shack and a loooooong walkway bridge to the beach. I decide to chill there on my awesome Primark beack towel reading my Portugese phrasebook. A seagull almost sh!ts on my face so I start taking pictures of it ... I managed to get this shot as it was approaching me again for a 2nd try (and it failed ... muppet) ... beautiful birds tho, just gliding in the air ... sipping water, ducking and diving like a kite.

The wind and the sound of the ocean was so peaceful, but it was time to get something to eat. I walk back along the bridge to where I must catch the boat ... and I can see in the distance the boat is there and the driver is on the edge of the pier doing something. As I get closer ... it's obvious, he's taking a slash right into the sea ... no care in the world ... even when he looks around and sees me coming up behind him ... he casually wiggles his thing and puts it away ... madness. I quietly get on the boat trying not to make eye contact ... but he won't leave as he sees another couple from afar walking up ... so we wait a few minutes for them to come by just to tell him "oh no we don't want to get on the boat" ... and then we leave.

On the way back home (not breaking any more laws) I decide to take another turning at the roundabout to see where it will lead me ... and I find a beautiful park and golf course ... so close to where I live ... maybe it's time to take up golf ... I've already started Tennis as I have a court outside.

So not much of an adventure this week, it was a quick one to unwind after a busy week and not much sleep. I do like Ilha de Cabanas ... in fact there are many beautiful beaches and islands around here ... even Faro has it's own island. One day I'm hoping to have my own boat so I can explore the areas of the islands that people don't go to ... the uninhabited gems ... and schedule illegal raves.

I'm not sure which adventure I plan to have next Saturday ... I shall keep you posted. Some time soon I want to go into Spain ... it's only 30 minutes away.

(p.s. the TollCard thing from last week worked ... I checked online and my balance went down ... expensive tho ... but the advantage is the road is pretty much empty).

Advertisement



Tot: 0.152s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0544s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb