A church in Hel


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Pomerania » Gdansk
July 31st 2009
Published: July 31st 2009
Edit Blog Post

A church in HelA church in HelA church in Hel

in Hel Peninsula
At the camping at Brzezno,
10-07-2001.

Hel couldn't be called Hel unless it had some pretty nasty sh*t to throw at me, rain.. any long distance cyclist's nightmare... apart maybe from the polish lagerlouds at the nearby camping last night with loud argueing, drunk screaming and rowdy movements of staggering male intoxicated bodies perpiring like pigs, moving through the forest on a mad quest for a comfortable pissing spot, untill well after 05.00 o'clock in the morning.

As the say in my native Dutch "an accident never comes alone" so I wasn't all that surprised to see that omnimous mass of gray rain clouds overhead my tent when I stuck my head outside with the rain coming dowen in earnest by the time I was breaking down my tent.

Early morning at first sun-up through a fog covered pine forest I push my rusty iron lady to the main road passing the small camping and amuzing myself at the sight of rained down tents and despairing half drunk men dressed only in dirty wed shorts, desperately trying to save what can be saved, wed hair stuck to clammy scalps, polish swearwords ringing in my ears while I cycled
My trip...My trip...My trip...

so far plus the trip to Gdansk today and tomorrow.
the last ten km. to Hel - a small fishing village located on the tip of Hel Peninsula - being bombarded by pouring rain.

The sleepy village even has a church made of stone bricks and pine wood. So there is a church in Hel after all...

Soaked to the bone I find myself a place at the window of a small bar facing the church in Hel, for a feared breakfast of Polish Froth and dark black Nescafe coffee, maybe a quick sketch of this church in such a weird proverbial setting.

I'll still have to backtrack the 35 km. long peninsula through heavy rain and storm wind in my face!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.29s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 16; qc: 78; dbt: 0.2333s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb