Early morning in the forest


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Pomerania » Gdansk
July 27th 2009
Published: July 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Grebes...Grebes...Grebes...

slashing it out over mating rights
Near Lazy, 07-07-2001.

It is still dark when the call of Mother Nature wakes me up explaining to me in her benign way I have to get up to give some spare time to my full bladder. An opaque moon and the last vestiges of alien kingdoms on far away stars pay me tribute while I let my flow go....

Tjee, where do all these weird thoughts come from being alone out here early morning in a dense Polish forest near the Baltic Sea. Might as well try to rekindle my campfire and boil some coffee.

After nearly a week of cycling surrounded by forest and acriculture, small villages and lonely bars for my breakfast and lunch, no big cities or other human populated areas, camping out wild in dark pine forests means my mind had plenty of spare time to munch itself through my mental despair, frustrations with people around me back home in Amsterdam, my second life so far away in Asia, my chaotic life as a whole...

I have entered that stage where I can sit on my iron lady all day my legs pumping the pedals while my mind goes on far-away trips
Church in...Church in...Church in...

small polish village
of its own bringing my consciousness to a near comatose state, just enough energy left there to stay on the road, a light alarm going off when my belly needs foot and my eyes discern a diner or local bar for a bowl of tasteless Polish froth.

Sitting on the wooden boardwalk overlapping this tranquil forest lake in front of my tent, warming my hands on my coffee cup I watch the fog slowly dissappearing, the first rays of sun warming up the earth, a king fisher on the hunt for breakfast and a huge flock of green finches landing and quabling over first drinking rights while the sentries keep a wary eye on me, two male grebes out on the lake slashing it out no doubt over a female...they make a nice drawing for my sketchbook.

I might not have gotten myself a big fat bass last night but I did catch a fairly shaped pike with the barbaqued left-overs awaiting me for a breakfast appointment...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.195s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 17; qc: 84; dbt: 0.1587s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb