"Just like family..."


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Masovia » Warsaw
December 1st 2005
Published: December 3rd 2005
Edit Blog Post

That's what Pedro said as we we sat in the kitchen supervising Miguel cooking dinner. After four relaxing days I had made myself quite at home in the green apartment on Dobra street. Yes, I had become, "just like family."
Vilnius, Lithuania was not the travel destination I had hoped for. I arrived in a snowstorm and the biting cold kept me couped up in the hostel most of my time there. I saw a few churches and one of Europe's largest shopping malls. But besides the big Christmas tree lighting we went to in the Old Town square, I was disappointed in the vibe of the city. I felt like I should have stayed longer in Riga or skipped Vilnius entirely. The downtown area was too big and complicated to navigate. The hundreds of churches that dot the streets if the city were incredible. But the gray sky and the long distances from A to B dampened my mood.
That's why running into a swarming group of exchange students at the bus station peaked my interest. Waiting for the Euro-lines bus to Warsaw to pull in I leaned toward a tall guy who I had heard speaking North American English earlier and started talking. And, within minutes I had someone to sit next to on the bus and a place to stay in Warsaw. I soon learned that the group was from Warsaw University and they were on a weekend trip to Vilnius. Tom was from Canada and his roommate, Anna was on the trip as well. The two helped me buy a city bus ticket and exchange my money. At their spacious, snazzy downtown apartment I met their third roommate, Pedro from Spain, and settled in.
The three were kind enough to let me practically move in and let my bag explode in their hallway. They loaded me up with maps and hints on places to go and things to see. While they were away at class I would hit the pavement and walk to all of the sights in Warsaw. Probably the most memorable of which was the old Warsaw cemetery on the outskirts of town. The graves, packed so tightly together, were eerily beautiful - topped with an aging collection of photographs, crumbling crosses and angels.
My last night in Warsaw we celebrated Tom's 21st birthday with a Spanish meal and ice-cream cake. Miguel, a fellow classmate, came over and added to the festivities..or should I say created them?
I think every traveler dreams of meeting such kind, warm, souls to welcome them to a new city with open arms and smiles. I left Warsaw with a piece of Spanish desert in my pocket from Pedro, a backpack full of clean clothes, and a light heart. Thanks guys for everything!

Advertisement



1st December 2005

good Poland
I was in Warsaw last year and spent the night at the Baptist Seminary there. Have a safe snow experience if necessary. Rich and family will be in London the 12?Dec- 22 they go to Cambridge too.
4th December 2005

Hello from Osaka!!
Hi,Christy.You finally in Europe.Sounds good!!Today,I'm visiting my uncle and we are checking your website together.I also talked about you with my mother on the phone few days ago.We always enjoy the story of you and wish your safe travel.Do you have snowfall in Poland in this time?Have a nice trip!!
4th December 2005

You flew through Lithuania!
My grandparents call it the "old country," but my granpa never fails to mention to me what a blessing it is to live in the US. Remind me to tell you about the problem with using horses in northern Russia during the winter.
20th December 2005

Hi Christy, I hope you have a very Merry Christmas. I've loved reading your blogs, you're a great ambassador for Edmond!

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0588s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb