Lots of room at the inn


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Masovia » Warsaw » Anin
March 10th 2010
Published: March 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

well it turns out last night that there was only1 other person staying at the Hostel. So I've had a 6 bed room to myself. Its the same tonight but then theres a bit party arriving tomorrow night, although they might just all go in the 12 people rooms.

So yesterday after I got here I went for a walk around the outside of the castle. It shuts at 4 so with the tours I'm going on I wont get to actually go in it. Then I came back up to the main square and went in St Mary's church. Its really nice in there and the audio guide had was interesting.

Back at the hostel I cooked myself so pasta and had a shower. One of the advantages of being one of two people staying in a hostel is that you can spend as long as you want in the shower about worrying that other people are waiting.

I had a couple (a pint and a half) in the bar. There was a meeting of a group for students from around Europe living in Krakow. So there was lots of people to talk to in the bar. Althought some annoying american decided to sit next to me. First he was telling me about how he had no faith in human nature then telling me about safeguarding children in the UK, because thats something I know nothing about. So I finished up my drink pretty fast and went to read in my room.

Today I went to Auschwitz-Birkeneau. It was an interesting, kinda creepy, sad experience. The bits that stand out were the mountains of shoes, glasses and hair they have there that represent just a fraction of what the Nazis actually took. And going in to the only gas chamber left (the others were blown up by either the Russians or the SS). Althought I dont understand why people feel the need to stand in a room where thousands of people were murdered and carve their names into the wall.

I didnt realise until the guide told us that Auschwitz was actually a Polish army base before the invasion. Which is why the building are made of stone and its quite small compared to Birkeneau, where most of the buldings are wooden.

A couple of days ago there was a minor earthquake (3 on the scale) so they had to shut the site to make sure everything was ok and a couple of days before that there was several thousand members of the Israeli army there.

Most of the museums and art galleries shut at 4 here. The tour didn't get back till half 3 so theres not been time to go visit anywhere else so Im just relaxing on the net in the bar till its time to make tea.

Tomorrow I'm going on a tour of the salt mines and then to the art gallery to see one of Da Vinci's paintings then getting an early night to catch the plane. Its meant to be snowing tomorrow and Friday so fingers crossed my plane isnt delayed



Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0685s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb