Women's day in Poland


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Masovia » Warsaw » Anin
March 8th 2010
Published: March 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I think I might have illegally got the tram to the zoo today. I put my ticket into the machine and it beeped and the light went red. But no one checked so I got away with it. The tram was harder to find that I thought. The website and guidebook said it was in a square, but in acctual fact its just around the corner. I got on tram 23, which made me happy.

I was a bit early for opening so I went for a walk around the park its set in and saw lots of red squirrels. They have better ears but the grey ones have the best tails.

First thing I saw at the zoo was some ducks sliding around on the frozen ice of their pond- very funny. The gibbons were brilliant. They are like bouncy balls. I loved the chimp and gorilla house. I've taken lots of pictures of them. There was one chimp that was the alpha male of the group who looked dead grumpy and was hording the tea. I wanted to take him home.

I had a bit of a scary moment were I thought I'd be looking in to a pond with a few fish in, but saw a crocodile instead. There's never a good moment to unexpectedly see a crocodile, even in the zoo. The sealions were good. Their lake had frozen over accept for in a few places so they would just randomly appear to breath then disappear again. Apart from the baby who just lay on the side and wriggled a lot.

I stayed at the zoo for about 3 hours. Its no where near as big as chester zoo and the exhibits aren't up to UK standards, apart from the very modern ones. But they havent had as much EU money and stuff as chester.

I caught the train back into the old town and wanted a pizza so went to pizza hut (I swear I'll eat more Polish food back in Krakow). I'd not long been sat down when I waitress brings over a bunch of flowers and a plate of pastries. She starts talking to me, obviously in Polish. I'm panicking and wondering what the hell is going on when my waitress comes over and explains in English. Turns out its Women's day in Poland so PIzza hut were giving all the women flower and cake. The pictures they took must be funny because I was so confused. But when I left I noticed pretty much all the women walking around had a flower so it much be a city or national thing.

I headed to the place of science and culture, which is about 30 seconds away from my hostel and went up 30 floors in 20 seconds in Polands fastest lift. The views up there were pretty good, but it was also freezing. There was an ice rink at the bottom and I debated having a go, but thought if I hurt myself getting back to krakow tomorrow is going to be a pain. There was also some pictures as part of the exhibition that were good. ONe artist showed lankmarks from round the world in the future when global warming has killed us all, for example the great wall of china covered in sand. Another used stats on consumption to make art and the other photographed familes from around the world with their weeks worth of food to highlight the difference.

I went back down in polands fastest lift and went to the train station to do a bit of research on were to get my ticket back to krakow so I'm not wandering around with my heavy bag tomorrow.


Advertisement



8th March 2010

I didnt even have a ticket for a lot of trams I got on around europe :os lol sounds like you have had a good day. it's sunny here for a change, still a bit cold though. hope gettin the train isn't too bad tomor. Joel x

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0488s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb