The Fish on the Plate: Zamość


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Lublin Province » Zamoœæ
July 6th 2017
Published: July 6th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Today we spent the whole day exploring Zamość. We began the day with the most important meal of the day, breakfast. No one spoke any english, so it was very interesting trying to order food. When we looked up on the menu, there was "omlet," so that's what we all had. When the omelet came out, there was corn in it. It was very different, but I love corn!

After breakfast, we walked around the town and used an audio guide to tell us the history and important locations. The town is small, and it almost reminded me of a smaller Kraków. The buildings are painted different colors and there are many restaurants along the square. There is a volleyball tournament going on in the middle of the square, so it takes up about 1/3 of the square.

After the tour was completed, we grabbed a quick bite to eat and took a tour of the underground museum under city hall. There, they collected water and when the Russians invaded Zamość, they used it as a prison. Next, we headed to another museum of the history of Zamość and the founder of the city. The museum had a few interesting works, but the rest of it was okay (nothing like the museums I visited in Rome).

We also visited the synagog, which most of it was destroyed when the Nazi Germans invaded the city. It is said to be the prettiest synagogs in Poland. After, we headed for one of the bastions surrounding the city, and the view of the city was very pretty.

For dinner, we went to Bohema Restaurant on the square, and the waiter spoke english and understood the seriousness of my allergy. She was very nice and pointed out recommendations for dinner and talked with the chefs about the dessert, so I could enjoy a slice of pie. My mom and I ordered the pork dish and my dad ordered the trout. When the dishes came out, my dads plate was a grilled fish. It was as if they just took it out of the tank! They warned me before I left for Italy that they serve the whole fish, but I have not seen it until tonight! For dessert, we all got something different so we could share. I also tried the hot chocolate with cherries. It was very delicious and rich!

Tomorrow is a big traveling day, so we are resting up for the next few days ahead!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.223s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0544s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb