Snowboarding, Campbelltownians and Ski Jump Championships


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Lesser Poland » Zakopane
January 24th 2010
Published: September 20th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Its sad to leave Martha but I’m definitely not left disappointed with Zakopane. I arrive fairly late at night and manage to make it on the last bus to the hostel from the main train station, despite taxi drivers telling me there probably wont be one available.

At Goodbye, Lenin Hostel Im greeted not by one but two Australians. Im further astonished to find one of my very own Campbelltownians. As is standard procedure I and Brett exchange the usual third degree of separation of people that we know and decide to ride the next day together. Zakopane is very cute, mountain village and we decide to ride the easier part of the mountain initially.

I hire my board for 2 days and initially we ride Kasprowy Wierch before heading to Gubałówka. In the evening we watch the annual ski jump championships, drink vodka and talk about wonderful Harry Potter curses. Before heading to Katowice the next day I try the smoked cheese that are famous to the region. Hopefully I get to return one day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0301s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb