The Ending of my European Adventure


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Lesser Poland » Kraków
July 7th 2017
Published: July 7th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Today was my last full day in Poland! We left Zamość and headed for the wooden churches. What should have taken us 3 1/2 hours, took almost 5 hours due to traffic and construction. The first wooden church we saw was St. Michael the Archangel in Binarowa. This was built in the 1500s, and was had the most beautiful interior decor. The other 2 churches - The Filial Church of St. Philip and St. Jacob in Sekowa and The Greek Catholic Parish Church of the Protection of the Mother of God in Owczary. These churches, while pretty and part of the UNESCO World Heritage Sites, were not as stunning as the first church.

After our visits, we headed for the Wieliczka Salt Mine. Luckily we caught the last english tour at 7 pm. We descended 65 meters to the first level. In total, we finished 135 meters under, but took an elevator back up, which took 2 minutes. During the tour, we were able to see sculptures made from salt made by the miners and a chapel, where services are held. Overall, the tour was a must-do and one of my favorite things that I did while in Poland.

We are back in Kraków for a few hours, then we catch an early flight back home. I've loved every moment of my European adventure, and I'm very sad that it's coming to an end. I cannot wait for the time I get to come back and travel to more countries!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.291s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.106s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb