Onto Another Adventure: Kraków


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Lesser Poland » Kraków
June 30th 2017
Published: June 30th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Today, I said goodbye to the beautiful city of Rome and headed to Kraków to meet my parents. I woke up very early because we needed to be out of the rooms by 8 am, but I was able to get some rest on the plane.

It is so interesting how laid back, yet unorganized the airport was. I flew out of a smaller airport through Ryanair, and when it came time to line up, there was no announcements. Luckily I saw the line starting to form so I jumped in line quickly. Everyone waited to board for a long time because the plane was running late, so I stood in line with my bags, and my shoulders started to hurt.

Once I arrived in Kraków, I was greeted by my parents after baggage claim. It felt weird not going through customs, but Poland is more laid back. We hopped in a car and drove to the hotel we are staying at. The driver, Filip, was very nice and told us a lot about Kraków.

When we arrived to the hotel, named Orlowska Townhouse Apartments, we climbed up the stairs to our room, which is beautiful (and has air conditioning)! We headed to the Main Square, which reminded me a lot of St. Mark's Square in Venice. The first thing that stood out to me was how clean the city is, as compared to Rome.

I was starving, so my parents and I stopped at a restaurant in the square called Staropolska, and of course I had to order the pierogies. My dad and I split a mixed dumpling dish with 3 different fillings: potato, veal, and pork. Delicious cannot even begin to describe how good these pierogies were!! After our late lunch, we walked around the square and enjoyed the weather (which is a lot cooler than Rome).

We came back to the hotel and took a quick power nap, then went around the corner to a restaurant, Miód i Wino, for a light dinner. I ordered the polish sausage with onions. It was so juicy and the waiter told us that they get all of their sausage from a local meat factory in Kraków. After another filling meal, we came back and got ready for bed because tomorrow will be a longer day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.215s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.051s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb