Dzien dobry, jeszcze raz od Krakowie!


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Lesser Poland » Kraków
June 22nd 2006
Published: June 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

So you know I'm alive...So you know I'm alive...So you know I'm alive...

Me in front of Morskie Oko. Kasia took the pic, so that's why it turned out haha.
Phew...hopefully I don't collapse from the heat in this internet cafe before finishing this entry...

Today's our last full day Krakow, but I'll get to that after a recap of the past few days...As a side note, my last entry was actually entered the day after I wrote it because the site was down.

Tuesday we were up and ready at 8 for Marian, Kasia's pseudo-uncle to drive us to Czestochowa. Sleeping most of the way there, we got there in about two hours, and it was nothing like i expected. I suppose I thought it would be like a tiny church on a hill, but instead it was this massive complex of intricate chapels and a basilica in the middle of a good-sized town. Being perfectly honest, the interior of the chapels, etc. were more beautiful than anything I've ever seen in western europe. In the main basilica where the Czarna Madonna (black madonna) was, there were even canes and crutches on the wall from those who were supposedly healed by the icon. Unfortunately, the icon itself was covered by the golden cover thing, but obviously we know what it looked like. Afterwards, we walked the stations of
CzestochowaCzestochowaCzestochowa

Big outdoor altar where they give mass at Czestochowa. I imagine this is where mass was held when the Pope visited
the cross outside and then, to my surprise, Marian bought me a Crucifix and chain that we subsequently had blessed by a priest.

After Czestochowa, we stopped at this little restaurant on the side of the road for lunch. It seems that in Poland people never eat. It had been over 7 hours since breakfast. Nonetheless, I had seriously the most delicious meal there - czerwony barszcz (red borsch) with meat dumplings, boiled potatoes with butter, and a fried steak patty with grilled onions. After lunch, we went back to his apartment where we were forced to eat more, this time a fried kotlet of some sort, potatoes like drowning in butter, and mezeria. Good, but I wanted to vomit from fullness.

The rest of the day was spent in the countryside visiting relatives that Kasia had seen 10 years ago when she was here. A bit on the boring side, but whatever. The fed us cake and I sat there pretending to understand the conversation, though my understanding is getting better legitimately. They spend 10 minutes talking about brzuchy (stomachs) and said Kasia was taking after her Mom. lol. After quite the long day, we headed home,
OrganOrganOrgan

The organ inside the Basilica part of Czestochowa
but took a walk to the BP to buy more of that FREEQ beer, and assorted Polish chocolate.

Wednesday we spent the entire day in Zakopane, which was about a 2 and half hour drive again with Marian and his wife. We've basically paid for nothing so far on this trip. Between them and Basia's family, basically every meal, souvenir, and transportation method has been covered. We feel bad but they refuse to have us pay. Anyway, Zakopane was of course beautiful. The main town area was surprisingly bustling with tons of restaurants and legitimate stores like North Face, etc.

We took a carriage to the Minibuses that took us closer to Morskie oko (rough translation ~ eye of the sea?), this lake in the middle of the mountains. The bus was half an hour, but then it was an hour horse and carriage ride up the mountain followed by half a kilometer's walk on foot. Oy. We were in dense forest the entire time with a phenomenal snow-capped mountain backdrop. Morskie oko, itself, was pretty hot as well - a pristine, clear lake surrounded by more snowy mountains. I also discovered how much Marian sucked at taking
GorgeousGorgeousGorgeous

Morskie oko - the lake was so clear
pictures. He would offer to take one of us, and then either have it not take, accidently shut the camera off, or have it come out blurry. Dziekuje bardzo!

Back in the main town, we got a good mountain meal.. Smalec (homemade lard spread) with bread was to start, and then I had grilled lamb on a skewer with pickles, onions, and more chunks of lard. I didn't eat the lard chunks, though Marian did. I figured their "flavoring was enough" After that it was up on the train/lift thing to the top of the hill to see more great views of the town and surrounding mountains. Heading back down, we bought smoked sheep's cheese that's beautifully carved - we'll probably melt it over toast for breakfast tomorrow.

By the time we were done with everything and got back home, it was already after 9, so we just stayed at the apartment, drank some of that delicious beer, and ate chocolate. What a life.

This morning we slept in way late in comparison to the other days - 9:45. We got bus tickets and added minutes to our phone before heading to Rynek Glowny to spend the
AwkwardAwkwardAwkward

Kasia and I, with my awkward face, at the top of the lift in Zakopane. I told you Marian knew just the right time to take it!
day just parousing around. We got these jablko z ciescie, a sweet roll with an entire roasted apple inside, at a bakery and then got iced coffee and sat at an outdoor care in the square for almost an hour.

We spend the next couple of hours wandering around, checking out Jagiellonian's campus, and going into random stores. We went inside Kosciol Mariacki, which was phenomenal, and later we went inside the tour (we didn't see the entrance the first time). More scary winding stairs led to the top of the higher tower which had, as was expected, more amazing views of the city. As luck would have it, the trumpeter began to play while we were up there!

After that it was off to the internet cafe, but on the way we stopped at Puma, where I bought a Polska soccer jersey. I figure with all the money I saved I could afford it. It was only $30 anyway. We had also purchased some patches and shirts with giant Polish eagles on them at Sukiennica.

Now we're in the internet cafe roasting away, but I suppose we're getting used to it. Tonight we're taking Basia and
Sheep!Sheep!Sheep!

There were lots of sheep at the top of the mountain. They're milked for Zakopane's famous cheese - oscypki
family out for dinner, but that's not till 8 so who knows what else we'll do.

Dowidzenia!


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

OscypkiOscypki
Oscypki

Here's the cheeses made from the Sheep's milk, with assorted saltiness and smokiness. It's crazy how they're carved so nicely.
ZakopaneZakopane
Zakopane

Part of the town itself
JagiellonianJagiellonian
Jagiellonian

One of the buildings at Jagiellonian
What a viewWhat a view
What a view

View from the tower of Kosciol Mariacki, with Sukiennica and the rest of Rynek Glowny down below...
FlorianskaFlorianska
Florianska

Looking down Florianska street, where the internet cafe I'm at is located on...
TrumpeterTrumpeter
Trumpeter

The trumpeter from inside the tower. He plays every hour and then abruptly stops to commemorate the trumpeter who, while trying to warn the city of the invading Tatars, was shot through the neck with an arrow.


22nd June 2006

I want to join you
Poland is more beautiful than I could have imagined! Your photos make me desire to plan a trip. Besides, your Uncle Ray always said he wanted to go to Poland -- at least that's before he realized he'd have to cross the Atlantic!
22nd June 2006

great pictures
Hey Jeff, the pictures are great! The one of you in fron of Morskie Oko is a good one of you.
22nd June 2006

Lubiem czytac twoje slowa
That means, I like to read your words. Anyways, this communication is absolutely amazing. I loved the photos (yes, Zakopane is beautiful) and laughed at all of your comments. It all sounds phenomenal. Please thank the pseudo-relatives for everything they are doing for you. I hope Krysia will do the same. Anxious to hear from you soon!!!!
22nd June 2006

those cheeses look like cicadas!!
23rd June 2006

holla
Hello sweet Jeff....glad to hear that all is well in Poland. Still chillin with the family in Firenze before going to the motherland in a few days. I picked you up a little something in Praha -- yeah, I didnt really think about how I was going to get it to you between now and January. hmph. In other news, Ryan told me that he is going to propse to Krissy and I am supposed to find out what kind of ring she wants without spoiling the surprise. More details to follow. Ciao bello!
23rd June 2006

hiya stranger!
I thiiiiiiiiiiiiink we are going to have to roll you back to BC come spring semester. But I wanted to tell you that I hope you are having a fantastic time, Boston is beautiful in the summer but clearly not as beautiful as Poland. Keep making your amazing entries, you. You're making my summer oh-so-much-more exciting, it feels like I'm traveling with you : )
27th June 2006

Hey Big J!
So happy to hear/see from you! I just returned from NY so have some catching up to do on your great pics and narration. Take good care of yourself and Kasia too! Love you, kiddo!

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0234s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb