Lights of Poland -Krakow-


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Lesser Poland » Kraków
May 23rd 2009
Published: February 27th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

May


I wake up the morning, and I decide to HH to Krakow.

A lot of people told me about this city, I have seen some photos and it look great but it will be a lot more impressive and envouting in real.

I arrive in the morning but my host from couchsurfing is working, so I decide to walk around and enjoy the city center.

The first things I notice when I arrive is the contrast between the new and nice building of the center and the old building of the surrounded area. To be honest, I have always prefered old building as they usually have a history behind each stone, so i spend quite a time there, watching the building and the scars graved into the stone.

The main market square is huge and full of tourists, it is quite an interesting place, with the big market in the middle of this huge place, its gives a gargantuan impression.

I continue my peregrination into this wonderfull city with a visit of the Barbican and the St. Mary Basilica.

The I met Anna adn her flatmates with who I will spend the evening.

The second day, I am quite lazy and only start to visit the city around 12, really walking slowly and taking my time. Looking at the tourist and the local people, trying to get the specific flavour of the city, eating the traditionnal food, listenning the music in the street, all those lil things tht make you happy and connected with your direct surrounding.

I also go to the Wawel Castle and wander around. the night is falling, the girls are busy and the city is in effervescence as it is the museum night. So lets do it and enjoy the museum by night 😊

I go back home in the morning enjoying the sun setting.

The day after, I wake up and walk around in some area where i am not suposse to go. but this will stay a private matter 😉

The last moment in Krakow as I am planning to go to Auschwitz tomorrow







Additional photos below
Photos: 42, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.233s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0603s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb