Day 12 - Off to Trollstigen, wow


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Western Norway
July 25th 2022
Published: July 25th 2022
Edit Blog Post

It is literally supposed to rain the rest of my week so fingers crossed it’s just mist / light rain and nothing too bad so I can still actually see to enjoy the views lol.

Staying in Stranda at a swanky enough place and had an amazing breakky - it was simple (guac, toast, Stranda ham which was basically bacon, fried tomato and egg) but so so good. I then went to park in the car ferry lane and just wandered around town / the waterfront while I waited. Most ferries I’ve seen (and taken) aren’t too bad - every 30min. Except Geirangerfjord since it’s more tourist than of actual use.

Other side of the fjord I made my way towards Trollstigen aka “The Troll Ladder” which is another (and arguably most famous?) great view point over a twisty turning road. On the way I stopped at Gudbrandsjuvet which is a small but powerful waterfall - love the sound as usual. It’s also in what seems to be strawberry central valley in Norway - so many fields and you could see people picking them and there were little huts all along the road selling them. They are SO JUICY, so good.

Making it to Trollstigen after that - it really is properly impressive - you have the two waterfalls in each side of the panorama and of course the road itself. It is picturesque but also just fun to watch the cars make their way along the road. It is looooooong.

I didn’t time it well for my descent - way more traffic coming up while I was going down, but at least didn’t come face to face with any busses lol.

I then slowly made my way towards Sjoholt which is my base for the next few days as I explore around Alesund and Andalsnes. I can’t believe the trip is almost over… it’s so short compared to what I usually do 😞 Lol the Norwegian prices play a big role in that haha. Still worth every penny though.

I did a pit stop in Andalsnes but then it started to pour rain so I was like k nvm and just headed off to my air bnb. Tomorrow’s rainy too… we’ll see what I get up to.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0911s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb