Back To the Snow.


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Western Norway » Voss
March 24th 2017
Published: March 29th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Off To Kindy.Off To Kindy.Off To Kindy.

Stella and I set off in the snow.
Yes, we are cold but loving it. We have returned to an apartment in Voss to spend the weekend in the snow. The weather on arrival, and in fact, all the way up here, was not great with lots of rain, but on arrival there is plenty of snow and it should be a great weekend. The apartment is nice and comfortable with a pretty good view over a lot of the area.

The week in Bergen has been a bit unpredictable with the weather but we have had a good time doing a few things and enjoying the snow. We have had snow most days, but not a huge amount, but on Thursday we really did enjoy just sitting and watching heavy snow for much of the day. It transforms Chris and Heges house and the surrounding areas into a winter wonderland. I enjoy really long walks in this and seeing what looks so different from the summer time walks that I do.

Poor Lilly has come down with the chickenpox which has hit her for a six and meant that she has to stay home with Di and I for a little while. She has really coped
Chris and Heges House.Chris and Heges House.Chris and Heges House.

Looking across the valley while walking home.
very well and this weekend in Voss, we hope she will be well enough to enjoy some skiing.

Di and I have been relaxing and just enjoying the atmosphere here in Voss while the family have been out on the slopes. By just walking 20 metres up the back of the apartment we can stand on the side of the slope they are skiing, so we feel a part of it all. They ski down from here and get the chair lift back to the top and reappear about 35 - 40 minutes later. Great fun. One of my favourite pastimes is just watching people do their thing, and I am both envious and inspired by all these people, wee dots to oldies, whizzing by on their skis and snow boards enjoying themselves. I have only skied about 8 times in my life and my overriding memories are of my skis running away from me down slopes or of going down slopes and being completely out of control, unsure of how I'm going to stop and survive. Wish I had tried a bit harder. Oh, of course, there was the night life I used to enjoy as well. Di
Brd House.Brd House.Brd House.

Chris has a few of these in the trees for the birds to nest in. Great watching the birds from the house, watching them come and go with nest material.
and I do love Voss, summer, winter, it is a special place.

So now we are leaving Norway to head to England. Don't want to say goodbye to the family, but so be it. Pip/Rod


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Di.Di.
Di.

Going shopping, walking down to catch the bus.
Snowman Time.Snowman Time.
Snowman Time.

Di and Lilly making a snow man.
Doing What I Do Well.Doing What I Do Well.
Doing What I Do Well.

Having another cuppa while enjoying the view.
Chris And Hege.Chris And Hege.
Chris And Hege.

Suddenly they appear over the rise racing toward me.
Rest Time.Rest Time.
Rest Time.

Then a sit down to recover and plan their next run.
Frozen Lake.Frozen Lake.
Frozen Lake.

All the lakes were frozen. This is the upper lake at Voss and it really is a magic spectacle.


Tot: 0.355s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 22; qc: 99; dbt: 0.1305s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb