To the Nesse Family and Bømlo


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Western Norway » Rubbestadneset
July 7th 2019
Published: July 7th 2019
Edit Blog Post

Blog 11 - Goodbye Bømlo ??
July 7

This morning we all arose early not wanting to be late when Reidar came. Thankful for the leftovers from yesterday’s feast; we broke our fast on Norwegian pancakes and lefse and herring and lamb. Then we waited...

Finally it was time and we hauled our bikes and gear across the bridge along with Reidar’s large container now empty of water. Again we waiting but not long. Very soon Reidar’s car was seen coming up the road with his trailer for the bikes. Since we were ready early, Reidar took us on a tour of Meling and then on a different road back to the fast boat (we learned it is not called a ferry). We did have to stop once and re-do the bikes.

Just before we got to the ferry we stopped at the Veteranlaget. It is much like a senior center for retirees of the shipyard. The building came up for sale and a group of them bought it. They sell parts and repair engines to help pay the mortgage. The upstairs is rented for some business offices. This is a place Reidar sometimes comes to work on old engines and “hang out” with friends. Every 2nd Wednesday retirees gather to work on the different motors. Reidar’s father’s boat was in their being restored.

We then drove the wee bit down to the boat landing and unloaded the bikes and waited some more and chatted some more. Then the fast boat was spotted and we hurriedly got ready and said goodbye to our dear Reidar. I believe emotions ran high or at least mine did but we didn’t really have time to think about it. We were ushered with our bikes to the other end of the boat where they were leaned against the back rail. No bike rack on this boat and also no hot dogs. As we stood in line to get our tickets I felt the emotions overwhelm me. I hugged Lois in thanks and felt the tears come. The land of Bømlo and the dear Nesse family had won my heart. I was sad to leave and to say goodbye to my Norwegian family; especially knowing I most likely won’t return. This trip has re-ignited my desire to find any family I may have in Germany.

This blog is dedicated to all the Nesse family - by birth or thru marriage - that opened their hearts and homes to us and accepted Lois’s US friends as part of the family. (I apologize in advance for any misspelling of names.)

To Reidar (O’Rielly) - oldest brother, dear cousin and good friend. You were better than the Radar of MASH. You took such good care of us and anticipated our needs before we knew we needed. And such an awesome tour guide. Dear Torril - thank you. You were the first to welcome us into your home and you provided us with a wonderful rest from our travels and delicious refreshments! I especially loved the sweet roll you made!

Ah Gandalf the Great and your lovely wife, Ingrid, and sister Lilliana the master hiker. Ingrid you also opened your home and provided us with an amazing feast. Jens (aka Gandalf) you also were an amazing tour guide along the coast as we hiked along the North Sea. You answered all my questions and provided us much information with stories of the land and memories from childhood. Your sister was most definitely the master hiker. She covered the rugged coast quickly and with great confidence. Lilliana I was not surprised to find you walked this almost daily - EVEN IN WINTER. I wish I could walk with you more! Ah and Ingrid I so wish we could have spoken more. I feel we could have had so much more to talk about. You are a dear kind lady!

Jorunn Dagmar and Torun provided us with the AMAZING boat ride across the fjords that night and a most wonderful dinner. I am not sure which was my favorite dish! I wish I could feast with you again and sit on your porch and enjoy conversation and sunshine and gotten to know you both better. Sadly I could not speak with you more Toruń due to the language barrier. It was nice to meet your beautiful daughter, Ingeborg, and your son Dag and your grandson who I so enjoyed! Such a lovely family!

Then we come to The Other Reidar, I have to find the Native American name for one who walks on mountain peaks, but uniquely you! Reidar and Aud Karin - fellow educators and adventurers and lovers of nature and dear friends. Aud Karin fellow pilgrim - Buen Camino my dear friend! You were both so gracious and caring. I am blessed again to have spent time with you both. Reidar I wish we’d had more time for you to teach me Norwegian and laugh at my poor attempts! Thank you for a delightful day and much conversation at the family celebration.

Also love and blessings to all I met at the family gathering - Maj Anita, Henry, Camilla, Åvar, Ted, Ramona, Kirsten....I’m sorry if I missed you or spelled your name wrong. I am most embarrassed but there are so many of you! You were all so wonderful. And many many thanks to Hans and Kristiana Nesse for raising such a wonderful family! I am greatly blessed to have met you. Much love grandma and grandpa Nesse! There are no words that are adequate to express how I feel about my brief stay in Bōmlo.

Mange Takk!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.56s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.2448s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb